What Should I Write?

I just received an email in my inbox, from someone I don’t know, but with a subject intrigued me. The subject of the email was Town & Gown’s Fiction Contest. I usually don’t open emails from people I don’t know, but Town & Gown is the name of a magazine in town here (specific enough I doubted it was a virus). Anyhow, I help my breath and double clicked.

Annnnnd…. it was legit (probably from the local writers’ network). They are looking for unpublished short stories (2,000 words or fewer) in one of four categories: Drama/Suspense, Romance with a Twist, Comedy (or Make Us Laugh), and One Fine Day in Happy Valley. The deadline for this is October 24th. That gives me roughly two months. Should be cake.

If you know me, you know which category I’m going to choose: Comedy. That’s the easy part. The hard part is to choose what to write about.

So, I thought it might be fun if you all came up with some funny short story ideas for me to write about. I would be eternally grateful. Heck, if I pick one of your ideas I’ll even name one of the main characters after you (if you’d like).

Leave your ideas in the comments here. I’m excited to see what you all can come up with. I promise to share what I write with you all, even if it doesn’t win.

What do you all think? Sounds like fun? Sounds like I’m lazy? I like cake?

Or, a little bit of all of the above.

6 thoughts on “What Should I Write?

  1. It might be interesting to write something that’s sort of like the first day on the job, and then find out at the end the main character is actually a mouse. Like he has to learn how to avoid the boss (the cat), he has to get up early in the morning to prepare for the day (looking for crumbs,) etc.

    I don’t know. It’s bed time at Cardiogirl manner and all three of them are jumping up and down screaming.

    You were given my last brain cell for the evening. Use it well, grasshopper.

  2. Hey, sounds like fun and given my recent posting why not write something about the tricksiness of the Monkey God! πŸ™‚
    Another idea D and I’ve been playing with is a story about a grossly inept wizard – but perhaps that’s a bit too Rincewind like!
    Have fun! And let us know how it goes.

  3. hello
    sorry I haven’t been around but I am just back …..and now I am off again… to Los Angeles! So for two weeks we will be on the same continent, how exciting is that!? (OK, you may not be excited but I am!)

    Now then, I thought that maybe you could combine TWO categories as I thought the sound of either ‘Romance with a Twist’ or ‘One Fine Day in Happy Valley’ – combined with ‘Comedy or make us laugh’ and given your comedic turn of phrase would make great stories.

    I would love to star in ‘Romance with a Twist’. Sounds like the story of my life…… πŸ™‚

  4. Cardiogirl – thanks for the last brain cell. I’ll give it back when I’m done with it πŸ™‚ Thanks also for the idea!

    Vanilla – I have a bit of “inept wizard” in my current novel. Monkey God? Hmmm.

    Diane – wave to me as you pass over Pennsylvania! Combining a few of the categories does sound interesting. Thanks!

  5. Oh, Man, I can’t seem to muster a single funny idea. Too much in my head that isn’t funny right now, I guess.

    Only thing I can think of is that in the days gone by, comedy used to mean a happy ending story. It wasn’t originally associated with humor, though comedies were sometimes funny.

    Typical comedy plot involves a triangle, a complication (usually around mistaken identity or some such confusion), an outsider figure who can be the villain OR the hero, and a resolution when the confusion is cleared up. Oh, and the ending involves someone getting married (hey, that fits with Diane’s suggestion of combining categories, doesn’t it?)

    Sorry I’m not much help…. πŸ™‚

  6. Pingback: British Superhero Sitcom « The Struggling Writer

Leave a Reply

