No Writing Again

So, I failed again last night in my attempt to do any kind of meaningful writing. Instead, I watched a bit of the Office with my wife and then went to bed early. I have a feeling I’m not going to get much writing done before the American Presidential Election, which is November 4th. I’m just too distracted.

I don’t have any real writing deadlines. I have a couple “I’d like to” deadlines, though. I’d like to have a new chapter done in advance of my writing group meeting October 6th (I’m hosting it at my house). I’d also like to have a short story done by the end of October for a local writing contest.

The problem is if I don’t meet these deadlines nothing bad will happen. Nobody will be mad at me (except myself) and I won’t lose employment. I just won’t advance my story or be published in the contest. Sometimes, it’s hard to self motivate.

Anyhow, that’s were I’m at. Again, I hope to write tonight. Sadly, I wouldn’t bet on it, though.

In positive news, I only have one hockey game this weekend. And, it’s at 7:45 so I will be able to sleep in a bit. Also, Neil Gaiman’s The Graveyard Book is published on Tuesday. I hope to be reading that by Wednesday.

Oh, and I bought my wife a dozen flowers last night, just because she deserves it. I’m shamelessly fishing for compliments here! πŸ™‚

8 thoughts on “No Writing Again

  1. Pratchett also used the five hundred words a day when he worked in PR. It helped him unwind from the stress (he worked as the press officer for a nuclear power firm in the early eighties) and was a small enough amount that it could easily be fitted in around Life and Stuff.

    It’s a good tip – at that rate you can have a goodish length novel in about six to nine months.

  2. What a sweet hubbie you are! πŸ™‚

    Is there someone in your writing group that would be an “accountability partner” for you? That might help some with the motivation. It sure is hard sometimes, though, isn’t it? I set myself a deadline to be done revising my WIP in time to pitch it to agents at the Surrey conference in October. That’s stinking soon. Eep.

  3. I’m with Jaye! And don’t worry. Or at least, try not to. The more you stress about not writing, the harder it is to write. I’ve been through what you’re going through, and that was the advice people gave me on my blog. Just write. Stop stressing about it, if you can. And don’t kick yourself if you just can’t get anything out. It’s okay. Alternatively, force yourself to sit down and write and allow it to be crappy. At least you’re writing! Everyone’s different. Do what you feel is best.

  4. Get that short done and enter that contest — you can do it! We’ve got to keep motivating each other, I really believe. Sometimes I think it’s only my writing friends that best understand our need to get the stories out. Good luck tonight with writing!

  5. I like the way you think, Jaye! πŸ™‚

    Neil – I can do 500. Good idea.

    Shari – Thanks πŸ™‚ Accountability partner isn’t a bad idea. Hmm.

    Steph – Not stressing is a good plan.

    Gottawrite Girl – Thanks for the kick in the paint πŸ™‚

    Michelle – thanks for the cool points!

Leave a Reply

