Derailed by The Fugitive

As you may start to understand, this is becoming a full-blown “writer’s block”. I say “writer’s block” in quotes, because I don’t really think there is an external force keeping me from writing. I’m well aware the block is my own doing.

Last night, my writing attempt was thwarted by the movie The Fugitive. It’s simply one of my favorite movies of all time. My first problem was I was watching TV. My second problem was I was surfing around even though nothing was on that I wanted to watch. My third problem was that I found something I wanted to watch. Anyhow, The Fugitive is a good flick.

I have a week to complete a chapter in advance of my writing group next Monday. Actually, I have until Friday, as I’d like to give my writing group buddies a chance to read my chapter ahead of the meeting. Can I do it? Yes. Will I do it? I don’t know.

The blog seems to have devolved into woe is me territory. I promise I’ll stop that. It’s not as if I’m moping around all day. In fact, I’m looking forward to posting some positive stuff here. Just as soon as I can get this writing block off my head.

6 thoughts on “Derailed by The Fugitive

  1. Writer’s block can happen for many reasons including that their are other things in our lives that we are avoiding and it leaks over to our writing. The messages we send ourselves about our writing can sometimes block us from being more productive. Perhaps, either deciding that you are going to write something on the page even if it is not your chapter will help or filling your inner well by an artist’s date will help get you started writing that chapter again. Sometimes we all need to fill our selves back up with insipriation.

    terri
    Creativity coach for artists, writers, and creative people.
    Creativesouls.wordpress.com

  2. SW, I really truly understand how you’re feeling. I had posts just like this on my blog for a long time, and the only thing that stopped me from writing them was becoming sucked in by EditQuest and work. I’ve had writer’s block (fiction) for about eleven years. It got to be so big I grew afraid of writing anything. Finally, a meme prompted me, and in the early summer I wrote the Lusty Weevil Pub story, but I haven’t written anything since.

    What helped me for a while was reading stuff on writing. this paragraph (forgive the length of this comment now!) was particularly inspiring for me, written by author Elizabeth Gilbert:

    My suggestion is that you start with the love and then work very hard and try to let go of the results. Cast out your will, and then cut the line. Please try, also, not to go totally freaking insane in the process. Insanity is a very tempting path for artists, but we don’t need any more of that in the world at the moment, so please resist your call to insanity. We need more creation, not more destruction. We need our artists more than ever, and we need them to be stable, steadfast, honorable and brave – they are our soldiers, our hope. If you decide to write, then you must do it, as Balzac said, “like a miner buried under a fallen roof.” Become a knight, a force of diligence and faith. I don’t know how else to do it except that way. As the great poet Jack Gilbert said once to young writer, when she asked him for advice about her own poems: “Do you have the courage to bring forth this work? The treasures that are hidden inside you are hoping you will say YES.”

  3. Writing requires discipline, making it a part of your DAILY ritual. Get out of the house, go for a walk and take your notebook with you. Sit down at a cafe, along a riverbank. Close your eyes, let go inhibitions. Remember the surrealists and their love of “automatic” writing. Don’t pre-plan, just put pen to paper and see where that takes you.

    The main thing is, don’t get into a self-loathing cycle. Break the block and then move on without looking back…

  4. Hi there kid,

    I hope you don’t mind taking some advice from a 76 year old former art teacher who herself has done some writing, but one thing I used to tell my kids at the college I taught at was, when they were feeling void of ideas, they should sit down in a place full of interesting shapes, colors, and patterns and just silently observe that surrounding.

    Control your breathing, and don’t let your mind think anything. Just be present. This will clear your mind, and help you relax. Then, give yourself some time, take a break, do something fun, like drink, and then the ideas will hopefully pour out of you. If they don’t, then I’m just a crazy old bat with way too much time on her hands.

Leave a Reply

