Graveyard and Nation

Well, that was the morning from Hell. Basically, I experienced my second Monday of the week. Let’s leave it at that.

The juices are flowing again on the writing front. I’ve made progress on the short story and Chapter six of the novel. It feels good. It feels really good.

Now to today’s post. As you may be aware, two of my favorite authors had books released yesterday. Neil Gaiman had The Graveyard Book published and Terry Pratchett had Nation published. What you may not know is that you can read some both books online. Click on the link below to read The Graveyard Book. I’m excited to read this one. Actually, I plan on buying it tonight.


Browse Inside this book
Get this for your site

Now onto Terry Pratchett’s Nation. I’m not sure about it. It seems like a good book, even though it’s not a Discworld book. They made a pretty strong case for it yesterday on Boing Boing. Cory Doctorow wrote of Nation in that article: “This isn’t a Discworld novel or a Truckers novel — it’s not Good Omens. It’s a complete departure for Pratchett and yet is recognizably him, on every page, writing with the same grace and wit we know from his other work. Highly recommended (and would make brilliant bedtime reading, too).” I may read a bit of it online and check it out at the library.

Here’s the link to Nation online:


Browse Inside this book
Get this for your site

If you read either of these books, let me know what you think.

10 thoughts on “Graveyard and Nation

  1. So you can get these as ebooks as well? Interesting! I would so much prefer the hard copy, though.

    I have a terrible, dirty secret (which of course will no longer be a secret in a second): I have never read Terry Pratchett. Yet.

    Thanks for those links. I’ll check them out!

  2. Okay, wait. Did I just go through the entire book for free on Harper’s site?? Is there not some missing or something? Was that a preview or the whole thing, Gaiman’s book??

  3. Steph – you must read Terry Pratchett. Start with the The Colour of Magic, the first book in the Discworld Series.

    As far as the Gaiman book, I do know a lot of it is on the site there. I didn’t click through to see how much. I was trying not to read it before I get a physical copy.

  4. I love the books of Neil Gaiman; Neverwhere is one of my all time favourites, and I am so glad I visited your blog. I didn’t realise he had a new book out…and I have just bought Nation. Great minds and all that….
    🙂

  5. Will do! I’m actually excited to read Pratchett, to find something new I’ll like! Everyone waxes poetic about him…

    Thanks for the recommendation!

  6. Thanks for the links! I started reading The Graveyard Book – interesting format, and at first I was liking it but then to my surprise I lost interest. That’s probably because I was reading it online, though. I love “real” books so much better than reading on my computer!

  7. I haven’t read either authors (oops!), but I always appreciate it when people share their favorite authors. I’ll check them out…

Leave a Reply

