Unblocked

I thought you all would be happy to know that I’m unblocked and writing again.  I wish I could say how it happened.  I’m really not sure.  I guess I just worked my way through it and eventually was able to start writing again.  Or maybe I finally tripped on a story idea I cared to write about.  Yeah, I think that’s it.

It feels really good to be writing again.  I feel like the words are flowing from me.  They may not be great words, and there may not be a lot of them (500 at most a day), but at least they are coming.

I have about 1,100 words of the short story I’m trying to write for a local writing contest.  I’d like to get into the 1,500 word range.  I have until October 24th, so I think I’m gonna make it.

The story I’m working on is for the category “Comedy (or make us laugh)”.  It’s amazing how hard it is to write comedy when you are trying to be funny.  My idea is about a guy in a bar with his buddy and they are trying to think up ways to make money so they can quit their jobs.  I’ll share it with you all once I submit it for the contest.

Also, you all may have noticed the National Novel Writing Month badge in the top left corner there. Yep, I’m gonna do NaNoWriMo again, even though it nearly killed me. Why not, right?

I have a strategy for planning this year. I know I can’t make an outline. I just don’t have the patience for that. However, what I am going to do is determine how I want the story to begin, and how I want the story to end. Next, I’m going to figure out how many chapters I want and then write a sentence about what happens in each chapter. I think this will give me a general framework without being too restrictive. It will give me some type of direction with the story, something I don’t feel I have with my current one.

So, anyone else going to do NaNoWriMo this year? If so, you can click on the badge on this blog and add me as a “buddy”. 🙂

8 thoughts on “Unblocked

  1. Glad you’ve found inspiration again. 🙂

    I like the new badge! I’m debating. If I do, it will be a totally spontaneous process, as I don’t have any time to plan this month.

  2. YAYYY!! Good for you. I’m happy you’re writing fluently again!

    Your story idea sounds awesome, too. Just that made me laugh! I look forward to it.

  3. Michelle – Thanks. I really like the new badge.

    Steph – Thanks! It’s a nice feeling. I’m glad that description made you laugh. I think the story is even better. We’ll see. I’m not a very good judge of my own writing.

  4. I failed NaNoWriMo quite spectacularly last year, so I’m not sure if I’m ready to give it another go. I was playing with the idea of setting out to write 50,000 words of short stories to try to get ideas and inhibitions flushed out without the looming one plotline and one story at the end, but I think that would probably be much harder to do.

    Congratulations on the unblocking! Looking forward to reading the story.

    (And congrats on your little boy!)

  5. Yay for tripping over story ideas! 🙂

    I haven’t decided if I’m going to NaNo this year. I’m up to my eyeballs in revisions right now, so I can’t see as far as November….

  6. I don’t think I could intentionally write humor. Off paper, I find me funny, but I seem to be the only one. I tried to write a scene earlier this year, which supposed to have tension in it, but also be funny. I don’t think I made it work. I hope you do well with your funny.

    It is great that you are doing NaNoWriMo again. And I think making some directional markers for yourself will really help. I’m still considering it, I got a lot out of doing it last year. It really helped me to work past my fears, to just keep going even when I hadn’t a clue what I was doing, which is apparently very necessary for me to write at all. But, I do feel like I have internalized some of it by now, I understand that writing is work, and believe I can keep myself going on without joining in. There is a lot of pressure to swim a great distance in a short time once you jump into that pool. (I wrote about 52,000 words for nano last Nov. and it took me 10 1/2 months to match that number by working on my own).

Leave a Reply

