Bury the Criticism

Well, I stayed up way too late last night watching the final Presidential Debates. You can probably tell that by my previous post featuring Joe the Plumber. For those who don’t know, Joe the Plumber was a guy from Ohio the candidates kept talking. Very bizarre.

Some things about the debate. I think Bob Schieffer did an excellent job moderating. He asked some tough questions and put the candidates through the ringer a bit. Also, Twitter helped me keep my sanity.

Now, on to my writing. I’m am soooo close to finishing the short story I have been working on for a month. I have roughly enough words for the story and now I just need to go back and polish it a bit and maybe have a few people read it before I submit it. It will be a big relief and free some time up for me so I can start on the NaNoWriMo planning.

I was reading The Graveyard Book last night and there was a really cool bit in there that I thought I’d share. In the book, the protagonist (Bod, short for Nobody) is now 14 years old and contemplating talking to a girl. Bod goes to a poet for advice. The poet is, of course, a ghost (all the protagonist’s friends are dead). Anyhow, the poet tells him a story of how when he was young he was given a bad review, and so to get revenge he decides from that moment forward he would publish no more poetry and instead have all his works buried with him.

His revenge was that people would have to wait until he was dead to have the privilege of reading his work, and they would have to dig him up to do it. Anyhow, the poet tells the Bod this and Bod asks if anyone ever dug up the poetry. The poet tells him that they haven’t yet, but perpetuity is a long time.

Anyhow, the whole exchange was hilarious. As a writer, though, I wonder if some of us would do this. How would I react to a negative review? Would I stop writing and get my revenge by never telling and sharing my stories? Or, would I learn from the criticism and keep going? I don’t know.

2 thoughts on “Bury the Criticism

  1. I think most people handle a bad review better than they originally thought they would. What really matters, in the end, is how you feel about your work firstly. Secondly the opinion of your family and friends, and third the opinion of your audience. I define audience as publishers and readers. Critics come fourth.

    Critics are not important, it is simply one person’s opinion. It may in some cases affect your career or earnings, but in most cases it will not.

    If I overall received bad reviews, however… I would probably take it to heart as much as I have taken the rejection from the publisher to heart. And then keep working.

  2. Hmm. I defintiely write because I havta “get it out of me”. There’s no choice in the matter. I feel like to hold on to everything in that manner would be caving to the naysayers. I want to try and progress free from that fear!!

Leave a Reply

