I’m A Writer

I’m a writer? Well not really. I just pretend to be one online. I know all of you, though, so that makes me a writer by association. Right?

Anyhow, I have a subscription to The New Yorker magazine. I know. I’m such a libby lib lib. It’s a good magazine, though. Also, my Dad gets a great deal on it every year. I think he pays something ridiculous like only $20 for a year’s subscription.

Anyhow, the following comic was in this week’s issue. I figured all you writers out there would get a kick our of it.

Comic Via The New Yorker

10 thoughts on “I’m A Writer

  1. LOL!

    And hey. You love to write. You do write. In that sense, you are a writer. I don’t think there’s any law that says you must publish to be a writer. What’s good or great and what’s published are both very relative and arbitrary things.

  2. You are a writer in my book. Not that I’ve written one you understand but you know what I mean.
    I see you are NaNoWriMo -ing again – good luck to you! I shall be here cheering you on from the sidelines!

  3. I have a friend who used to accuse me of not being a writer because I wasn’t obsessed with doing it all the time. This from a guy with no family, a cushy job, and way too much Maker’s Mark in his gut.

    Screw him . . .

  4. I love The New Yorker. I’ll wear the liberal, elitist badge proudly. πŸ™‚

    The article on precocity in artists vs. late bloomers was wonderful. I’m definitely one of those late bloomers who struggles for every word and direction I want to take.

    Great cartoon! That one made me laugh, too. And sigh in recognition. πŸ˜‰

  5. “I just pretend to be one online. I know all of you, though, so that makes me a writer by association. Right?”

    Absolutely. You are a writer.

    I love how blase the mouse is, casually walking by, with eyes half-lidded.

Leave a Reply

