The Innovator – A Short Story Excerpt

Those of you who have been reading the blog know I have been struggling with a short story for some time. Actually, I think it’s been two months. For two thousand words. Sigh. Anyhow, I finally finished the story and I thought I’d share the beginning with you all. I’d like to share the entire thing, but I don’t think I can “publish” it here and also submit it to the contest. Anyhow, here you go:

The Innovator
“Edible Velcro,” said Jesse.

“What?” said Mark.

“Edible Velcro. Velcro you can eat.”

“Why in the world would you want to eat Velcro,” said Mark. “That’s disgusting.”

“No it’s not,” continued Jesse, “and I’ll tell you why.”

“Uh…”

“Fruit cups.”

“Fruit cups?”

“Yes fruit cups,” said Jesse. “Cups of fruit. Have you ever had a fruit cup, got that fruit all stacked up, and then the stuff keeps falling out? It’s like you could have more fruit if it wasn’t for the fact that the cup just won’t hold it. Well, what if you could just Velcro it in? We’d be rich!”

Mark sighed, shaking his head in disbelief at his longtime friend and co-worker.

Things just get sillier from there 🙂

7 thoughts on “The Innovator – A Short Story Excerpt

Leave a Reply

