I’m Voting For Obama

This will come as a shock to no one who has read this blog the past few months, but I still wanted to say it.  I’m voting for Barack Obama.

Let me say that again.  I’m voting FOR Obama.  I’m not voting against McCain.  I want to make that perfectly clear.  I agree with Obama’s ideas.  I agree with his tax plan.  I agree with his health care plan.  Most of all, I agree with his approach to problems.  I get the sense he really looks at an issue and approaches it with a logical mind.  What a refreshing change that will be.

It has been a long campaign for me.  I can’t imagine the toll it has taken on both of the candidates.  Just look at a picture of Obama from a year ago.  There’s a lot more grey in his hair now.

I’d like to share a few clips with you today, because they touched my heart.  This first one is of an older gentleman who is an Obama volunteer who was bornin 1922 and lived through the Great Depression.

This next one is an old one but a good one.  I probably watched it every day for the past month, when the polls would swing too close for comfort.

Anyhow, I don’t know how things are going to go tonight.  It looks good.  However, it looked good in 2004.  All I can do is leave work, cast my one vote, and pray for the best.  If Barack doesn’t win, I’ll be devastated. Eventually, I’ll get over it.  I just pray for the country I don’t have to.

I guess, what I’m trying to say here is I’m voting for hope over fear.  It feels good.

11 thoughts on “I’m Voting For Obama

  1. I’ve been following the news online. It looks as though…. he’s winning? I don’t want to hex him, mind. On the states where McCain has won, the voting came really close, it was a surprise to see how near it got. I hope the result is clear cut in the end, though.

  2. I would have voted for him too if I was allowed to! We stayed up until 4am to watch the results and went to bed when we found out he had definitely won. What a great birthday present!

    Woken at 7.30 by puppy. Marvellous

Leave a Reply

