Day 6 – 8,350 Words

It nearly killed me, but I managed to write my 1,667 words last night. It nearly killed me, but I did it. That gives me 8,350 for the month.  That certainly feels good, but it’s going to feel great when I hit word 10,000 tonight!

As far as sharing excepts here.  Yes, I will do that.  I just need to figure out which one.  Sharing excerpts is what got me through last NaNoWriMo, so that’s something I definitely want to do.

I have a funny story from election night.  I took my daughter with me (2 1/2 years old) to the polling place.  She was happy because she got a free pen outside and an “I voted” sticker.  She had gone earlier in the day with her mom, so she was expecting this.  Anyhow, as they were checking my name in the rolls, she decides to say proudly and as loudly as she could, “My daddy’s voting for Obama”. Then she let out a nervous giggle.  I was a little embarrassed, but it was cute.  I swear I didn’t tell her to say that. 🙂

Anyhow, things are good here.  I’m still not sure I’m writing a good novel or not.  I suppose that doesn’t matter right now.  I’ll figure that out when I’m done.

5 thoughts on “Day 6 – 8,350 Words

  1. Good! I’m looking forward to that 10k word mark too. Don’t worry if you’re writing a good novel. You’re writing a first draft, and that’s good enough. You’ll make mistakes (it’s inevitable) but you can fix them later. I find it liberating to really allow myself to write a crappy first draft. Then I’m usually pleasantly surprised afterward when it’s not quite as crappy as I expected!

    Cute story. 🙂

  2. It sounds like you’re having fun on NaNoWriMo. I couldn’t get my projects to synch up this year for me to start something new this month but I’m using you guys as inspiration to motor on through the second draft of my current project. Good luck with the rest of the month.

Leave a Reply

