NaNoWriMo Down in Smoke

Well, I’m at 11, 700 words in NaNoWriMo, which sounds good until you realize I need to be at 16,667 by the end of today.  That ain’t gonna happen.

So, why am I go far behind in my writing?  Well, there was the election.  Then, I was feeling exhausted on Saturday.  Then, Sunday we visited my parents during the day and I had a hockey game at night.  I just didn’t have any writing time. Maybe I could catch up today.  Unfortunately, I’m running on only 3-4 hours sleep.

The big question is how I feel about this?  I guess I’m disappointed.  I started out pretty strong and really thought I had a chance at 50,000 words this year.  Still, I have written almost 12,000 words.  That’s pretty cool.

I’m not giving up.  Surely not.  However, I’m, not gonna beat myself up over this.  If I can get to 35,000 – 40,000 words this month I’ll be ecstatic.

On the plus side, I played Wii Fit for the first time yesterday, and my Wii age was 30, which is actually 1 year younger than my real age.  Yay me!

5 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Down in Smoke

  1. It’s amazing you manage as much as you do with all your commitments. It’s good you aren’t beating yourself up, it’s a challenge but not compulsory and if it starts to feel pressured and not fun then that rather defeats the object of it all in my book. So to speak….

    I love Wii Fit – it’s very silly but great fun.

  2. I’m so glad you’re not giving up. You are doing really well! I actually haven’t read one participant who is on track or ahead. It’s a huge commitment, and there is the rest of life to live as well. I admire your taking on this challenge, but in the end, just writing every day, or as often as you can, is perhaps the real achievement!

  3. That’s a good way of looking at it. Even if you don’t make the 50,000 mark (which I’m sure you will), it’s still 35,000 – 40,000 words you wouldn’t have had otherwise, which is pretty huge.

Leave a Reply

