Back in the Game (Day 11 – 13,482 words)

Well, I made a bit of a comeback in my NaNoWriMo project.  I wrote 1,729 words yesterday, which felt very good.  I’m still pretty far off pace, but it’s nice not to feel further behind.

Sorry about all the National Novel Writing Month talk around here lately.  It’s what’s on my mind lately, so it only makes sense that I talk about it.

So, who wants an excerpt?  You do?  Okay, here’s an excerpt.  Bear in mind that this is a very rough draft and it has not been polished.  Some of the dialog may even be a bit robotic.  However, you can get an idea for what I’m going for here.

“I just thought of something,” said Niko, looking at the crowd gathered behind him.  “What about the first guy that ever traveled here from the future?”

“What about him?” said Cody, his hands slightly below his eyes, but poised to shield them again if things get too scary.

“Well,” said Niko, “the first time he got here nobody else was here.  However, when the second guy came here to the exact same time, wouldn’t that automatically change the past?  Does that make a whole new reality?”

“That’s a good question,” said Mr. Powers.  “Think about this, though.  What if when the first guy gets here, all the people that were ever here were already there as well?  Even if the first person here was also the first person to ever travel through time.”

“Oh man,” said Niko, eyes bulging.  “That is so crazy.  I never thought of that either.”

“I think you will be able to answer that by the time the trip is over,” said Mr. Powers.  “I have another question for you.”

“Please no,” said Cody.  “You guys are giving me a headache.”

Mr. Powers and Niko started to laugh.  “Hit me with the question,” said Niko.

“All right,” said Mr. Powers.  “We’re in the past right now, right?”

“Right,” said Niko and Cody.

“Well, does that mean we have always been here in the past?” asked Mr. Powers.

“What?” said Niko.

“We’re here now, with the dinosaurs,” said Mr. Powers.  “Does that mean we were here the first time this happened?”

“Whoa,” said Niko.  “Does that mean I’m a million years old?”

“I don’t think so,” laughed Mr. Powers.  “Still, I think these are the things we need to think of as we travel together. These are points I’m not sure you would fully understand in the classroom.”

Well, those are a few of the 13,482 words I’ve written this month. Not great, but a start. I can always edit next month, right?

4 thoughts on “Back in the Game (Day 11 – 13,482 words)

  1. One thing that usually bugs me about time travel stories is they never seem to try and dig deep into what it affects or how it works. I like that you’re asking questions. It’s lookin’ good, I think.

Leave a Reply

