Flailing a Bit Here

As you may have noticed for the past week or so, I’m struggling a bit to come up with stuff to write about here. Somehow, between the election and NaNoWriMo, this blog has lost its way a bit.

The scary thing is I’m not sure what to do about it. I enjoy blogging and hearing from all you that I’ve met on the web, but I’m not really sure what purpose this blog is serving. It’s really hard for me to see this thing from a reader’s point of view.

So, I’m not sure where to go from here. Do I just keep up with the NaNoWriMo updates until I get my groove back? Do I take some time off from blogging? Do I form a transition team and move to the “center-right”? I don’t know.

Anyhow, NaNoWriMo. I’m at 14505 words. I wrote 1,000 last night. Not great, but I tried.

5 thoughts on “Flailing a Bit Here

  1. I want more Top 10 lists.

    Take a couple weeks off or just write quick posts linking to interesting things until you decide about something to write about and then write a post about it.

    I for one like hearing about the writing contests and stuff like that that you seem to be able to find that I never can.

  2. I feel a bit like this with writing at the moment. If I write blog posts about my manuscript, every day I’ll be writing: “I’m on page six, I’m on page six.” So I’ve been writing: “Then Kiko said this!” I think it’s a big task to do NaNoWriMo and keep the blog updated as regularly as you do. I’m finding time tight now that I’m doing the blog posting month – and I’m not trying to write 50,000 words at the same time (just, you know, get past page six!) It’s OK to let yourself off the hook… the blog will be here in December!

  3. It must be really hard to write for NaNoWriMo and then have to write a blog post too. If you get encouragement from us then just post your totals occasionally and I’m sure we will cheer you on! Don’t feel obliged to post every day.

    I stopped posting every day when I started thinking it was becoming a chore to think of things to write, now I just post when I have things to say!

  4. I certainly hear that. I feel bad about how I have let my blog and blog visiting go. It is not that I don’t want to do it anymore, or that I am not still interested in what the people I used to visit are up to now, because I still am (I like the connections I have made.). It is just that I am really focused on working on my story right now, and there is family and all the rest of my life, so time is the issue.

    (You are working on NaNo, being a good daddy and husband, all while also holding down a job, that seems like a plenty full schedule to me)

    I like coming to check in on you from time to time; i hope you continue to blog to some degree, but I think it is fine (it may be time, for a time) to back off from it a little bit, after all, you probably started blogging (like I did) because you want to be a writer, and what better way to spend your writing time is there than working on the stories you hope to someday have published?

Leave a Reply

