Top 10 Easiest Things About Writing

I thought I’d take Mike’s suggestion yesterday and give you all a Top 10 list. I’m just that nice of a guy.

So, I racked my brain for some writing related Top 10 list I could create.  Without further ado, here it is:

Top 10 Easiest Things About Writing

  1. Writing, in essence, is making stuff up.

Yeah, about writing. It’s hard work. Don’t let anyone tell you otherwise. Writing is insane. It will drive you nuts. It will make you tear out your hair.  It will make you gnash your teeth.  It will make you cry (unless you are a studly man like myself who never cries except while watching sports movies).  It will make you wish you never saw a pen and paper.

You know what, though, this just makes it all better when you actually succeed at writing.  Nothing worth while is ever easy, right?

As far as NaNoWriMo goes, I’m pretty far off pace.  However, I’ve written 15,906 words so far.  That’s a good feeling.

9 thoughts on “Top 10 Easiest Things About Writing

  1. Perfect.

    I’ll add a couple to the list:
    2) Worrying about whether to use there or their instead of actually developing a plot.
    3) Coming up with a beginning and an ending
    4) Drinking coffee

  2. Seriously – you are doing great! And no lie about the hard work. Lately, I think I should take your name instead because I truly am a Struggling Writer right now.

    Sigh. it is really hard lately.

  3. Nice ongoing list everybody 🙂 I stand by my version, though.

    Cardiogirl – thanks 🙂 It is a lot of words. Some of them are even English and in the correct order 🙂

    Mike – 🙂 I tip my hat to you sir!

    Ello – it is hard work. You’ve had more success than me though.

    Michelle – I’m just trying to keep up with you.

    Helen – 🙂

  4. Yep, writing will drive you nuts. And then you feel even more nuts for feeling nuts, because it is your choice to sit alone with paper and pen, or on computer, and spend hours trying to figure out the details, and get it all just right, about that which doesn’t actually exist.

    I mean usually when I feel tortured over something in my life, I can go to the people I know and vent and complain, but with the writing, if I carry on to most about the issue I am struggling with, I can tell at the very least they just don’t get it, and often they think, ‘Coo coo.’

    On my top 10 easiest things about writing, I would have-
    finding just the right notebook to write this story’s notes in. Yeah, that part is good, that part is fun, that part is easy.

Leave a Reply

