28,026 Words – 30,000 Tonight?

The writing is going pretty well, though I’m feeling fatigue from staying up to midnight every night. It will be a relief when November is over. I hit 28,026 words last night, just barely meeting the night’s minimum word count. On the plus side, if I keep this pace I’m now on track for 42,000 words for the month.

I’m going to make every effort to reach 30,000 words today. That will be a nice feeling, for sure.

As for the story itself, I’m writing a TON of dialog and just a little bit of description. I can feel I’m writing the skeleton of the story now, just figuring out where they story goes. I figure I can always add some meat to the skeleton on Draft 2.

One plot point I came up with last night involves a library card to a library in the future. How cool is that? Also, yes, there will still be libraries in the future.

5 thoughts on “28,026 Words – 30,000 Tonight?

  1. Speaking of libraries of the future. I think in the near future and with all of the stores that are going out of business, that all malls should be required to house a branch of a library. Put the books where the parents put the kids, I say. I guarantee that the mall branches of the library would get quite a bit of decent foot traffic.

    Anyway, good work on the good work.

  2. Speaking of libraries of the future. I think in the near future and with all of the stores that are going out of business, that all malls should be required to house a branch of a library. Put the books where the parents put the kids, I say. I guarantee that the mall branches of the library would get quite a bit of decent foot traffic.

    Anyway, good work on the good work.

  3. Yay for libraries!!!

    I completely missed making 30k on Wednesday, but I finally hit it last night. I’m going to shoot for 40k on Monday or Tuesday. I’m thinking this weekend will be good catch-up time!

    On the dialogue . . . I find myself doing that a lot too. That’s when I struggle with my word count. I find if I make myself slow down and write more descriptions and tell more instead of thinking ahead to finishing a scene, it goes much quicker. My word count shoots up, as does my words/hour rate. Plus, it feels more complete . . . but I definitely like writing dialogue better. Sometimes I think I should just be a screenwriter. 🙂

Leave a Reply

