NaNoWriMo – A Bit of a Surge to 36,000

wordswrittengraphsmall

The above is a little graph of my writing progress. The top line is the 50,000 line. The pink line shows where I’m currently at.

I had a pretty good day of writing yesterday. A pretty great day of writing yesterday, at least word count wise. Yesterday I was somehow able to write 2,282 words. That gives me a little over 36,000 for the month. At the current pace I will wind up with 46,000 words for the month. This thing is starting to feel possible. Fingers crossed.

I’m not sure about the quality of writing thus far. I know that isn’t the point, but bear with me here. I think I have an interesting story on my hands, but this is as pretty rough first draft.

For one thing, I don’t have all the little details. I’m lacking town names, and building names, and stuff like that. Not really a big deal, but stuff that will need to be added later. For the most part, when I hit a place where I need a name or something like that, if I can’t think of a good one off the top of my head, I put in something as a placeholder and then move on.

How do you all handle things like proper names in your writing?

3 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo – A Bit of a Surge to 36,000

  1. Congrats!!! I love when a rush comes like that.

    I do the same thing, skipping over names like that. I usually put it in brackets, like this: [FRIEND] or [DOG] or whatever, and I use scrivener’s Replace feature to go into the document and replace those with whatever the official names will be later.

    Personally, I don’t mind leaving those things out, because it gives me something fun to figure out during the revising process. Kind of gives me that excitement you get when a story’s brand new and you’re just figuring everything out, so I find it helps with the tedious rewrites.

    Dude . . . I’m missing entire SCENES for crying out loud. Left them out on purpose, just because I didn’t want to write them. 🙂

  2. You CAN do this, Paul. It IS within your reach. All writing is just a draft, even the stuff that gets published. It is all a part of the process. You will feel so good if you finish. Just pull an all-nighter at the end if you have to, but do it!

    As for names, I just write in a name that seems okay and then fix it later when I get my brilliant idea. 🙂

Leave a Reply

