Back To Civilization

Wow. That was an intense month of writing. No time for watching TV. No time for movies. No time for much else. Most nights, as soon as my daughter went to sleep, I would begin to write.

Let’s see. What’s new with my life. Well, we bought our Christmas tree on Saturday. It’s a lovely tree. A Concolor Fir. When we brought it into the house, it smelled like oranges. My daughter loves it, of course. She had a good time hanging candy canes from the branches. She calls the tree her “big sister tree” sometimes.

My daughter is cute as always. She’s now 2 and 1/2 years old. She loves telling everybody “SHE’S BIG!!!”. She also tells us “she’s a big girl because she can RUN REALLY FAST.” She loves running eleven or twelve laps around the house, from the living room, to the dining room, to the kitchen, and back around.

Another big thing in our house is Christmas movies. My daughter is in the Christmas spirit BIG TIME. She current favorites are Frosty the Snowman and Rudolph. We talk about Frosty constantly. It’s kinda fun being so excited for Christmas.

Not everything is rosy, I guess. There have been a whole bunch of tears shed in my house because a certain someone can “do it by myself!!!” or “doesn’t need to use the potty.”

Well, that’s what’s happening with me. It’s nice to take a little breath from the marathon of NaNoWriMo. I need to get back at it soon, though, to finish the story. Just not at the insane pace of November.

7 thoughts on “Back To Civilization

  1. Oh, Paul, you are a better family man than me! I’m purchasing a fake tree, with lights built in. It’s embarassing. Well, so glad you can relax a little and enjoy a slower pace… we can’t afford to burn out!!! Not til we get our debut accepted. Then we can breath, right?

  2. Your daughter is so cute, and her behaviour sounds very familiar, especially the: “I don’t need to use the potty!” We get a very polite response to the question: “Do you need to go to the toilet?” “No, thank you,” and not long afterwards there is a puddle on the floor…

    It is so lovely that she is getting into the Christmas spirit. Your tree sounds great too. I can’t see us getting round to buying even an artificial one this year, although Kiko was excited to point out a black one in a shop yesterday. Seriously, they were selling black Christmas trees (artificial ones, I hasten to add!)

  3. I love that oranges smell. We are to get ours on Friday. Usually I wait till closer to Christmas, but this year, I intend to be fully decorated by Monday 8th.
    My husband misses that, the seeing of Christmas through the eyes of a young child. It is odd and beautiful to revisit one’s childhood as a parent.

    Relax and breath now that you are done with NaNo, but…do keep at it. Go from your current 50,000 words, all the way to Fini. 🙂

Leave a Reply

