Depressed

As my daughter told us as we were taking down the decorations last night, Christmas is over. I can’t help but feel a little depressed. After all the Christmas specials, all the Christmas songs my daughter has sung, and all the presents she has opened, it’s hard not to miss it all.

So, I walked the ole tree out to the curb last night. It was a good tree. A happy tree. It barely dropped a needle on the ground until I moved it from its’ spot (then it dropped a ton!). Still, it had been up for a month and it was time to go. The last thing I needed was a house fire.

The nice thing is I still have a week to go on my break from work. We may get paid a little less working for a university, but at least we get decent sized vacations.

I don’t know if I’ll be able to do some writing while on break. I really should finish up my novel I wrote in November. We’ll see, I suppose.

Anyhow, anyone else feeling a bit blue?

8 thoughts on “Depressed

  1. Just a bit. This time of year is always interesting, and it came and went so quickly this year. I too still have a week off from work, and that’s without much pay, so things are tight. And the routine is not normal, having so much free time and so many things to do and no gumption to get any of it done. I guess I just function better under pressure . . .

    So, yeah, I’m a bit blue. But trying to bury all that in endless movies and Guitar Hero jam sessions . . .

    Sad, really . . .

  2. You don’t waste any time kicking the tree to the curb, do you!? I’ve always liked to keep it around until the first couple days of January. Of course, that’s probably just a denial thing.

  3. Oh, I keep my stuff up forever. Last year I kept everything up quite a while, because we had the baby on the 4th, so I think it all stayed up until February. I really want to keep it up all of January again. Then again, we have an artificial tree now, so it looks the same, maybe minus a few burnt bulbs.

  4. You know, I’m going to sound like an old misery, but I’m actually relieved it’s New Year and that the festive season will soon be over. What a carry-on this year! Kikzy and I were ill for most of the second half of December and only today are we both on the mend. We had a one-day interval of wellness and that was Christmas Day, so that was lucky but otherwise I’ve spent most of the time either collapsed or hauling one or both of us to the doctors! I did manage to get our decorations up on Christmas Eve, so I was happy about that, but I’m taking them down tomorrow. We’ve got a tiny artificial tree only about a foot and a half in height – it’s cute! – but next year we’re going to have a full-sized artificial tree (donated from my mum) so I’m looking forward to that. Actually, I was just saying tonight that I don’t mind Christmas being over in Australia because the weather is so warm and sunny, but in a cold climate the end of Christmas is miserable because there is nothing to look forward to in January except dark and cold…

  5. Not yet, but our decoration are still up. One day this week I’ll take on that task.
    I get blue in winter (blue and grey), but I’m hoping to stave it off for another week or so (as it might last till spring).

Leave a Reply

