Hello 2009

Hey everybody. I’m back. It’s 2009. Welcome to the future. Isn’t the year 2009 supposed to be the future, not the present?

Let’s start this off with a story about my daughter shall we? Yesterday, my daughter, my wife, and I were sitting around my daughter’s little table painting with water colors (the ones where you dip the brush in water and when you put the water on the paper it changes in color).

My daughter, out of nowhere, declares “I want another mommy.” (this was interesting for her to say as I’ve been reading Coraline, in which the titular character has an “other mother”)

“Oh,” I replied. “You want a copy of Mommy?”

“No,” she said with a smile. “I want a mommy with yellow hair. Then Daddy will say ‘Oh boy!'”

My wife and I both laughed and my wife told me I had to write that down. I have no idea where my daughter comes up with these things sometimes.

I mentioned a few blog posts ago that we almost got into a car accident. That happened (almost) on Christmas Eve. It had done quite a bit of freezing rain the night before, but we knew if we waited long enough, driving conditions would improve. So we embarked on our journey to Pittsburgh around 1:00 in the afternoon. It rained heavily the entire three hour drive, and threw in some dense fog for good measure.

About twenty minutes from our destination, a car decided to stop suddenly at a traffic light (still green) just before the tunnels on the Liberty Bridge. The car in front of me managed to stop, but I was fast approaching them. I laid on the brakes as hard as I could, knowing in the back of my mind there was little chance I would be able to avoid hitting the car. Out of reflex, as I was applying the brakes I turned my steering wheel slightly to the right. Luckily, it was enough to avoid an accident.

Well, I guess that’s a good sized post for now. I have so much more to talk about, but I need to start back in to this thing with baby steps.

5 thoughts on “Hello 2009

  1. Happy New Year! Glad you’re back. Don’t kids just say the funniest things. Last year, at just around this time, I skidded on some black ice in my car, smashed into the back of another vehicle, and ended up with about £300 worth of demage! Doh! I’ve been taking it very careful this year.
    🙂

  2. I’m so glad you’re all safe and that you avoided having an accident. We just had an “almost” situation today – Kiko bolted away from me 50 metres and ran out into the road. I am still in a state of shock, but I am so grateful he wasn’t hurt.

    Heh heh, your daughter is so cute! A mommy with yellow hair!

  3. Akasha – Kids do say the craziest things. I just try to remember it all

    Helen – that is very scary. I’m glad he’s ok.

    Vesper – I’m hoping writing these things here helps me remember them 🙂 Happy New Year to you.

  4. Happy New year! And am so glad you missed that accident. My kids told me they wanted a new mommy, but it wasn’t a cute reason like that – they thought I was mean. he he. and they are right!

Leave a Reply

