Ten Honest Things

Internet superstar Jennifer, over at Free and Flawed, tagged me for an honesty meme.  So, I figured I’d give it a whirl.

  1. I have a severe allergic reaction to the band Nickelback.  Can’t stand them.  I would rather have Britney Spears’ entire catalog of music implanted directly into my eardrums than listen to one Nickelback song.  Sorry Nickelback fans.
  2. I don’t own a MacBook.  I would love to own a MacBook. However, I am also cheap and don’t like to overpay for the “Apple Experience”.  Therefore, I will never own a MacBook.  Same with the iPhone.
  3. When I was in elementary school, whenever I was walking the halls by myself I’d always pretend I was Spiderman and shoot invisible webs at the ceiling to traverse the halls.
  4. I hate all those smutty  “<Insert Clever Pun Here> of Love” reality shows on VH1 with a passion.  It gives me a headache to think people like this exist.  That said, I’m not immune to pausing on them, if only for a moment, to watch the train wreck unfold.
  5. My wife and I are going to have a baby at the end of February.  I’m so excited for his arrival.  Not so much excited for the first year or so of sleepless nights, however.
  6. I don’t do text messaging.  I find it silly.  This is the part right here, where I tell you dang kids to get off my lawn.
  7. I’m HORRIBLE with details.  Simply terrible.  I realized this is not a good trait to have, particularly for a writer.  I’m working on it, though.
  8. I refuse to recognize the names of colors other than the standard red, orange, yellow, etc.  I just can’t remember all that stuff.  Someone might tell my wife something is mauve in color, and she will know what they are talking about.  I have no clue even if they had just shown it to me and told me it was mauve.  It’s purple, dang it!
  9. I’m scared to fly on airplanes (well, not so much the flying part as the fiery crash part).  I’ve done it before, but I don’t particularly enjoy it.  I’m like Mr. T on the A-Team.  You have to knock me out to get me on a plane.  Something about careening in the air in a hunk of metal is unsettling to me.
  10. I’m really not that interesting.  Oh well.  At least I tried 🙂
  11. Anyone else want to try this, go ahead and consider yourself tagged.

10 thoughts on “Ten Honest Things

  1. I ain’t gettin on no plane, fool!

    I agree about the colors. Crayola used to piss me off as a kid because they had Burnt Sienna, but not regular Sienna. Still to this day I couldn’t tell you what Sienna looks like.

  2. Great list. I’m a bit worried about #8 though, I can foresee that causing all sorts of problems…
    I agree with #9 though. I do it but I don’t have to like it… 🙂

  3. Ooh, I hate Nickelback. One of their songs I find offensive on so many levels that I can’t even listen to one bar of it, if it comes on the radio, I have to switch it off.

    Heh, on the other hand, I am Mrs Text Messages, I can text really really fast using just my thumb – how did I ever live without text messaging?! And I love colour names like gamboge and cerise and burnt umber… not that I drop them into everyday conversation, mind you!

    I think it would be cool if your baby is born on February 18th because that is very good birthday (heh heh!) so long as it isn’t too early for him, of course!

Leave a Reply

