Editing Can Be Fun

So I wrote 50,000 words of a novel in November. Almost got to the end. It was a good month. Have I finished the story in the two months since. No.

I’ve been working to correct that. In fact I even tried a few times to complete the story. I went to Chapter 18 and started to type. The only problem was I could not remember what was happening in the story nor what I wanted to do. They tell you to put the story aside. I REALLY put the story aside.

I knew what I had to do. I had to go back a few chapters are actually read what I’d written. How horrifying, right? It was so scary I put it off for a while.

I finally got back to it last night. I anticipated cringe-worthy writing. I’m not being self-deprecating. I can appreciate when I’ve written something decent. I just didn’t expect something good from something I’d written in NaNoWriMo. It was a first draft, after all.

Once I got in there, and past the confusing first sentence, the chapter wasn’t too bad. In fact, I was pretty good. Reading it energized me a bit and gave me some ideas going forward. Did I have to clean some things up? Sure. Is there more to clean up? Yes. Do I have a clear vision of “the finish line”? Oh yeah!

4 thoughts on “Editing Can Be Fun

  1. writing a novel in a month is next to impossible to me, and that to present a decent writing.. good luck with all the editing and completion of the story 🙂

  2. Good for you!

    Ew, haven’t read mine yet. It’s on the schedule to do tomorrow and I’m dreading it. I actually didn’t finish, but decided the first draft was “done.” There were big issues I needed to fix, so there was no point in writing an ending that would need to be changed, especially when I knew what needed changing. So that first draft isn’t “finished” but it’s done. I’m excited and scared about the rewrites, but taking that break does revitalize you!

Leave a Reply

