A Writing Wish

So writing on the novel is going well, albiet slow.  I’ve got around 50,000 words written in draft 1 and have about two more chapters to write.  I’m so close to the end, but something is holding me back.  I guess it could be said I’m holding me back.

I guess more than anything, I wish I could tell what I have written is any good.  I know I shouldn’t worry about that right now, but still.  That is a major question in the back of my noggin.

I wish there was someplace I could send my story.  A place where they would read the whole thing and then say, “This is pretty good.  You should keep at it.” or “This isn’t very good.  You should write something else.”  Wouldn’t that be nice?   To know what you were working on is good or not.  I totally lack the ability to judge this in my own writing.  I would totally pay for such a service.

Anyhow.  Things are good on the home front.  My daughter has been running around the house pretending to ice skate.  Then she jumps on the couch and says, “Here comes the zamboni!”  That’s when I get up and pretend to be the zamboni.  It’s fun.  I’m just proud she knows at 2 1/2 years old what a zamboni is.

She’s also told me she wants to stay 2 1/2 years old.  Wouldn’t that be nice 🙂

8 thoughts on “A Writing Wish

  1. Ooh . . . can I be 2 1/2 too?

    Best words of wisdom I ever heard? No first draft is any good. Ever. It’s what you do with it that counts. And your story ideas are all really good. It’s all about the next draft, so keep on truckin’! 🙂

  2. okay, I can now focus on your question re: beta-reading (I hope I’m using the term right, am I?)

    Chris sometimes sends some portion of her pre-published writing to her friends. It does not really matter if those beta-readers are writers, editors or not. Sometimes a common sense is all what is needed.
    I recall an event with a flying character in a story when someone noticed that going up involves a neck-tie pointing down and not up for example…or something along this…I hope you get what I mean…

    And as to where to gather these readers from:
    why, the internet of course, your reading circle, your family members, and so on.

  3. Very funny!!! A zamboni… Just like my friend who’s already taught her three year old to worship a certain President-elect.

    : )

    So, TRUST your gut, I say! You’ve got enough blood, heart and guts to safely do that, you know???

    : )

    Talk soon…

  4. I run into the same problem…to an extent. I can tell when something’s a waste of time, and I can tell when something’s halfway decent. The only problem, of course, is that I only seem to be able to tell waaaay after I’ve actually finished writing it.

  5. ‘Are you smarter than a 2 1/2 year old?’ in this case – no. I’ve no idea what a zamboni is, so I am off to google it!

    Asking friends to read it seems a good idea as long as you can trust them to be honest – the danger is they might not want to hurt your feelings if it’s not so good. Perish the thought, it’s brilliant, isn’t it?!

Leave a Reply

