I Think I’m Being Trained

As many of you know, I am due to be a Dad for the second time at the end of February.  It is an exciting time, but also a time for rest.  After all, in a few months I will be back to the days of waking up every two hours with a baby human.  Not good times.

Anyhow, for the past week or so our 2 1/2 year old has been waking us up in the middle of the night, usually around 2 AM.  Usually she crawls into bed with us and immediately falls asleep.  Still, I think she’s training us for the sleepless nights of a newborn.

It worked out for me last night, though.  As we were all laying there trying to go to sleep I got an idea for the beginning of the last chapter of my novel.  Of course I was laying there, writing the whole thing out in my head, repeating it over and over so I wouldn’t forget.  Eventually I had to walk downstairs and fire up the laptop and type out those few sentences.  My brain wouldn’t let me sleep otherwise.  When I got back upstairs I carried my sleeping daughter across the hall back to her bedroom.

On a different note, I felt bad for a fellow commuter this morning on my drive to work.  I was stopped at a red light and the car next to me was doing the familiar rev-rev.  I have been in this position many times, when your car is so ill you have to constantly rev the engine when you are stopped just to keep it going.  It really is a silly dance.  You have to put the left foot on the brake, while using the right foot to press the gas pedal.  Fail at this and you have a stalled car.  I hope the lady made it to work.

Finally, there has been some cool Coraline stuff go up on the web in advance of the movie.  You can now read the entire novel online.  Also, you can download some cool Coraline desktop wallpapers.  I can’t wait to see that movie.

7 thoughts on “I Think I’m Being Trained

  1. My oldest son used to pile into bed with us. Main problem was, he seemed to lack a bed-compass, he always ended up lying across the bed, head on me, legs over my husband and he would push the bed clothes down out of his way, which meant I froze.

    When his little brother arrived, he use to climb into bed with him or help him escape from his cot, he hated sleeping by himself. In the end we put a futon mattress on the floor so his little brother couldn’t fall onto the floor and they both slept together. Happy days…

  2. To think I was complaining about Kiko’s new getting up time of 5.30am. 2am is worse! He won’t get into bed with us, mind you, he stands by the bed and yells: “I done a poo!” until one of us staggers out and sorts him out and then of course he is as high as a kite for the rest of the day. I actually found he was easier to deal with as a baby because then he at least slept *some of the time*! I hope when your new baby arrives he is a good little sleeper. Apparently I used to sleep 14 hours a night from 6 weeks old, not sure I believe that, to be honest, but I do hear it is *possible* for some babies to follow that pattern.

Leave a Reply

