Yo-yo Ma at Inauguration

Did you all see the performance by Yo-Yo Ma and Itzhak Perlman at the Inauguration yesterday?  It was spectacular and moving.  And, the music was performed by John Williams (of Star Wars, Jaws, Harry Potter, Indiana Jones fame).  You can’t beat that.  If you missed the performance, here it is:

I got (and get) chills when they started to break into the Simple Gifts part.  Here are the lyrics of Simple Gifts:

Tis the gift to be simple, ’tis the gift to be free,

‘Tis the gift to come down where you ought to be,
And when we find ourselves in the place just right,

‘Twill be in the valley of love and delight.
When true simplicity is gain’d,

To bow and to bend we shan’t be asham’d,
To turn, turn will be our delight,

Till by turning, turning we come round right.
9 thoughts on “Yo-yo Ma at Inauguration

  1. Hey there. Just stumbled here from goodness knows where, but was looking for a Coraline trailer and then there you were!
    Just thought I should say hey and I too am psyched about the movie (Nightmare Before Christmas was just the greatest!) and look at that, I’m a Terry Pratchet fan too! Lapsed.

  2. Thanks for posting this video! I was at work and unable to watch it so I’ve been catching bits and pieces all over the internets. I’m downloading the whole thing during the day today so that I can watch it tonight.

  3. YESSSS!!!! That performance was PERFECTION. SO respectful, beautiful, inspiring… it was created FOR the occassion… I only wish Mary J. Blige had been as traditional and humble as this small group of players…

  4. It was gorgeous; the whole day was incredibly moving.

    Off-topic: I just started a new online speculative fiction zine. Please take a look at our guidelines and consider submitting something!

  5. And my bad, BTW – Copland popularized it, didn’t write Simple Gifts (which of course is in the Wikipedia link you posted, but I didn’t read before I started spouting off!). Funny how one composer can be so strongly associated with a tune.

Leave a Reply

