Draft Two – Dun Dun Dun

Started Draft Two of my novel last night. Draft One is not completely finished, but I needed to start some edits so I have something to share with my writing group on Monday. A file named Draft Two now exists in the world.

For me, it’s an extremely weird thing to go back and read what I’ve written a couple months ago. Reading my Chapter 1 has been interesting. It’s almost like it was written by somebody else. I mean, I have a general idea of what happened in the chapter, but most of the details are fuzzy. The best part is that it isn’t terrible writing. It gives me something to work with.

So, have any of you experienced this, or is it some reflection on my terrible memory that I can write something and then so completely forget about it?

11 thoughts on “Draft Two – Dun Dun Dun

  1. Congrats on draft 2 commencement.

    Yes certainly when I read stuff from long ago, I can. But with my current work I doubt it. I’m trying to wait a bit longer to reread/rework my chapter one because I think it is still burned into my memory. But then I have read and reread it, oh I don’t know a trillion times. If I hadn’t then I’m sure it would be different.
    Actually I love it when I can read my own work as a bystander rather than as the writer of it, and it is considered ideal/best for editing ones work if you can read it that way.

    Sorry about your daughter’s cold, my son is just getting over a stomach thing.
    I love the new header, and find it funny, picturing you hunkered down by candle light, trying to get words down faster than a grain of sand can fall through an hour glass.

  2. Congrats on getting to the draft 2 stage! I never seem able to finish mine, which is a huge problem for me. I think it stems from my habit of editing as I go. At any rate, once in a while I’ll pick up something I haven’t worked on in a long time and I’ll think, “Wow, I wrote this tripe?” (That usually pertains to stuff I wrote in high school. And I’m my own worst critic.) It is kind of weird to read things you’ve written after you haven’t seen them in a while, especially when you come across a particularly good bit. That’s always nice.

  3. Oh this happens all the time! I write something and completely forget that I wrote it. But then usually I think it is incredible crap. So you are ahead of the game here with the good stuff!

    Good luck!

  4. I think it has something to do with writing in a zone, you know? Hey, so long as you like it, and it’s good, who cares if you remember writing it or not?

    Congratulations on all this writing, Paul, and I’m sorry I haven’t been by in a long time. Love the header, by the way!!

  5. Thanks Taffiny. I wish I had the patience to rewrite something over and over.

    Thanks Kay!

    Ello – I don’t feel ahead of the game though. Oh well.

    writinggb – you’re always so positive and kind. Thanks!

    Steph – I’m glad you like the header. Don’t worry about the absence. I’m glad you stopped by.

  6. Congrats on starting draft 2.
    I flicked through my nanowrimo novel the other day and I did have a similar feeling…I managed to completely forget that a minor character existed :s

  7. Yes, in fact, I’ve just experienced this tonight. I opened my chapter three file to realise I’d done a whole extra redraft that I’d totally forgotten about! It wasn’t too bad either. It’s nice to get a surprise like that.

    I’ve got a Draft 11 file for my other ms… with nothing but a planning wiki in it!

    Redrafting is horrendous but the sense of satisfaction you get from improving the story makes it well worth it.

  8. “It’s almost like it was written by somebody else.” – I often get that feeling and it’s even better if what I read there is really good. 🙂

    Good luck with Draft Two!

  9. Congrats on starting that file!

    Oh, yeah. Especially when I push a draft like with NaNoWriMo. I’m in a daze for most of that month! But it’s a good thing, because you have a fresh pair of eyes for that draft. Good luck!

  10. Happens all the time. Sometimes I’ll reread something I wrote a long time ago and I’ll think “I’m pretty damn good!” Lately it’s been the complete opposite. I’ve always been a better editor than writer!

Leave a Reply

