Hogfather

hogfather-2
I’m currently reading Terry Pratchett’s Hogfather. So far, it’s been really cracking me up.

I’m about 100 pages into the book, after starting it last Sunday. This may not seem like much, but is a torrid pace for me. Basically, I read when I have time. This is mostly when my wife is reading to our daughter to get her to go to sleep (the daughter only wants Mommy if available). I’ll lay on the floor near the bed and read whatever novel I’m reading on my Sony Reader, always mindful of the falling book they have finished. My job in the process is to fetch a new book, without getting knocked out of course.

Anyway, Hogfather has a few of my current Favorite Discworld characters. You have Death’s granddaughter Susan, you have Death posing as the Hogfather (Santa Clause of the Discworld), and you have The Death of Rats (the Grim Reaper for rats). The Death of Rats is my favorite favorite, as he’s this little skeleton rat. I picture Stuart Little without any flesh and whose only word is SQUEAK (Death always speaks in all caps).

Anyhow, typical silly Pratchett.  I highly recommend this one.  I’m 1/5th into the story and I already am thinking “I don’t want this book to end.”

7 thoughts on “Hogfather

  1. I started reading Maskerade last week before I got sick. It’s probably been six years since I read a Pratchett novel, and I’m really loving it. Going to have to catch up to him now. I must be nearly 20 books behind now.

  2. I’ve never read a Terry Pratchett book. I keep meaning to, but it just hasn’t happened yet. I’ve heard a lot of good things about them, so it’s something I’ll have to put on my “to do” list.

  3. I’m so glad to have a good book recommendation. I’m flying to Austin next week and now know what I’ll be reading during the flight. You just saved me from settling on some lame piece of chick lit I would ultimately regret buying. Thanks!

    p.s. I am loving your blog!

  4. I’m like Karen. One of these days…

    I’m glad you’re enjoying the book so much; those are the best, the ones you wish would never end!

Leave a Reply

