The Sick Bay

redtailed_hawk

My entire house should be quarantined. I’m sure of it.

I have a wife, due to have our baby next Tuesday(!), with a bad head-cold she has had for over a week now. She has been sleeping poorly and has gone through at least three boxes of tissues. She’s had a real rough time of it.

Then there’s my daughter. She woke up yesterday morning with a fever. We’ve been loading her up with Tylenol and fluids. Poor little lady. She’s still been a sweet as ever. In fact, she’s lost a bit of her argumentative spunk. She woke up at 5:00 AM this morning with a fever again. She was laying next to me in the bed and her forehead was so hot it kept me awake!

Then there’s me. I’ve been able to avoid the sickness thus far. This morning, though, I’m feeling a bit of a cough at the back of my throat. It’s just a matter of time for me. I think it’s waiting until the baby arrives to really strike me. As if having a newborn in the house isn’t hard enough.

Now to the photo you see at the top of this post. A significant portion of my journey to work is on the highway. This highway is bordered, in parts, by land owned by the state prison. A good chunk of it is farmland. As I was driving along, I noticed a red-tailed hawk (similar to the one above) perched majestically on a metal fence. It sat there, head raised proudly, as though it were supervising all of us ants as we made our way to our big mound of dirt. It was a pretty great sight.

11 thoughts on “The Sick Bay

  1. Good luck on sidestepping the colds. Those were the worst while pregnant.

    You just reminded me that my husband had a cold when our first daughter was born. We actually have a picture of him holding her while he was wearing one of those white surgical masks.

    Funny the things you forget, eh?

    No pressure, but my middle kid’s birthday is Sunday (2-22) so, uh, that’s a good day to have a baby.

  2. Paul:

    I like that you notice these things, like the hawk, and the comparisons you make. It’s what makes you a writer: your power of observing the ordinary and turning it into something interesting or that which we can relate to.

    Hope your family gets better soon! I know how hard it is to stay healthy when everyone around you is sick (working in the clinic is starting to make me paranoid!), but my secret is lots of positive attitude, Vit. C, water, ginger, and peppermint. And not eating meat. Weird, I know. But it seems to work.

  3. Hawks are our totem, I adore them anyway.
    Paul, I’m sending my get well wishes to your family!!

    If you happen to have a link to your post about your first visit to your local writers’ club, I’d gladly link that in my CopperMoonProject blog.

    Guess what, I’m doing the same!!

  4. Oh no! I hope you all feel much better soon. It’s so worrying when kids run high fevers – you don’t think her cold might have gone to her ears? This is where it hits Kikzy every single time, urgh… Get well soon, all of you!!

  5. The scrapbook was created by Edward Barber and Jay
    Osgerby of east London, through the Barber Osgerby design studio.
    This is a general rule, and as there will be a part of the studio’s viral marketing campaign for The Hunger Games: Catching Fire. Make an impact and head down the aisle. Remember, the wedding dress is defiantly for those Rebel Brides. Any bra or any undergarments she wore under the dress would make a real statement.

Leave a Reply

