Somebody Is Gonna Be Late

So, today is my wife’s due date. No baby so far. If the little guy doesn’t hurry up, he’s gonna be late. I suppose we’ll forgive him, though.

I think what’s tough about it most is the unknown. We know a baby is coming, but we don’t know when. It could be now, it could be in the middle of the night, or it could be in two weeks. We’re just not sure. That can drive you nuts.

Not much else new with me. I haven’t done any writing. I’m just trying to get by. I have bonded a lot with my daughter lately, with her asking me to play Paper Mario: The Thousand Year Door for her. Being the nice daddy I am, I always oblige. 🙂

Mostly we’re just biding our time, hoping to get well before embarking on a year of sleepless nights. It will all be worth it in the end. That’s what keeps us going.

8 thoughts on “Somebody Is Gonna Be Late

  1. I’m sure that your baby will prove to be worth the wait! It’s really good that you’ve been bonding with your daughter – she’s going to need you to help her to adjust to the new centre of attention. It’s a very traumatic time!

  2. So, I was going to post this:

    Hi, I’m stopping by to remind you about the 2009 Writing Challenge I’m hosting. Please stop by before the end of the month!

    But now I’m thinking I should post:

    WOW. Get some sleep now. Two is so different than one, but it will all be good. (Or do you have two already?) Best of luck!

  3. Waiting really is the hardest part. Do NOT, however, say that to your wife. Having actually pushed tow of the little boogers out myself, I am allowed to say such ridiculous things. My first was quite prompt, born exactly on her due date with no “progress” before then, so you never know. We’ll all be waiting hear the good news very soon!

  4. Ah, I remember this, I kept wishing Kiko would fax me his schedule! I worked right up to the week before the due date (which was Monday) and for the last five weeks of the pregnancy, had 5 weeks’ worth of lesson plans on my desk for the relief teacher and was really, really expecting that he or she would have to use them because I was born 3 weeks early. But no, it wasn’t until 5pm, Friday, of that week that I got even one sign (and then he wasn’t born until the day after his due date but I will spare you the birth story, nobody wants to hear that!) All the best to you and your wife, you know, once the little darling is born the time will go sooooooooooooooo fast!

  5. Good luck on the wait. That truly was the worst part of each of my pregnancies. We just wanted it to be DONE so we could move on.

    Of course a newborn brings different challenges (lack of sleep being the most notable, naturally) but it’s so hard to walk that last stretch.

    Having said that, it’s so exciting each morning to hop over here for Baby Watch 2009. Best of luck!

  6. Pingback: Two Years « The Struggling Writer

Leave a Reply

