Good Traditions – Free Food

As you all know we have a new baby in the house. It’s exciting for sure, but also draining. It’s also very hard to find time to do anything, including cooking. If I had an unlimited budget, I’d probably just get take-out every night. Luckily we don’t have to.

It seems there is a pretty nice tradition (in my neck of the woods at least) of making meals for people with newborns. In the past two weeks we’ve had many friends offer to make us meals in exchange for a chance to see the baby. The first week we were too tired to see anybody but this week people have started to come over. It’s been great.

Our neighbor brought over something like three meals the other day. I’m not talking about frozed pizza. I’m talking about homemade soup, apple crisp, and stuff like that. We’re eating well now!

My parents are coming over tonight and they’re bringing over food as well. I think they’re also bringing over diapers. What else could the parents of a newborn need?

Anyhow, this is a tradition I could get behind. Of course, the key is to “pay it forward” and provide food to any of our friends who have babies. That’s what keeps a tradition going, right?

I’m just wondering if this is a tradition just around here or have any of you experienced it where you live.

11 thoughts on “Good Traditions – Free Food

  1. I think in any close knit community it is pretty common to make meals for people with new babies (or recent medical problems if they have kids/family). I personally have done it. I think that it is nice so that the people can focus on their baby/children while trying to deal with everything.

  2. When my sister had her baby last year, I made a bunch of meals for her and froze them. She’s a vegetarian, so I made veggie chili, casseroles, etc. Carted them all over, filled her freezer and held the baby all day. It was wonderful. 😉

  3. Unfortunately I was never the recipient of meals like that from the neighbors or church, etc.

    However, my MIL did come down for at least four or five days each time and made meals non-stop, cleaned the house and played with the baby/toddler/older girls by the time the third kid came.

    I like to send a $25-$35 gift card to Pizza Hut, Applebee’s, etc. so the new parents can have a meal without cooking/paying for it.

    Enjoy your parents and the meals!

  4. Back when I was a church goer, our group of young parents used to do this for others in the group who had kids. Cooking is really the last thing on a new parent’s mind, but eating? Yeah, we can do that! I used to pack on the pounds in the weeks after a kid was born.

    Only in fairly close-knit communities to I imagine this happens on a regular basis.

    If you lived closer, I’d gladly come over . . . and bring some find grub.

    Glad to hear you all are coping . . .

  5. This is, or has been a definite tradition in Hungary, too. The food was called ‘komatál’ – meaning ‘dishes of kinship’, perhaps thus referring to the fact that a marriage and the birth of a baby creates and/or strengthens family ties.

  6. I was thinking about you the other day! Congrats on the birth of your son! And I think it’s fabulous people are bringing you food. It’s a thing in the South and Texas to help out folks who are sick, moving, etc. I’m glad to see they’re helping ya’ll out!

  7. I love this tradition — people in my neighborhood brought lovely things over after the birth of my third child (my twins were born when we lived in a VERY unfriendly neighborhood, alas, so no yummy free food.) It makes me look forward to the time when I can do this for other people (no new babies in our neck of the woods lately), and for my own children. You sound well — if a little tired. Be sure you’re getting some rest, okay? xoxo

  8. Those sound like good neighbours. You live in a great place! I love that tradition. When Kiko was born we lived in a really dodgy area. I found out when we moved that our “stand-offish” neighbours were actually really nice but couldn’t speak English. I felt sad about that misunderstanding and wished I’d got to know them while we lived there.

Leave a Reply

