Need a Quick Writing Boost – Go Outside

We are finally emerging from the harshness of winter, my once proud tan Greek skin now a sad pasty white. Seriously, it has been a long and harsh winter, and it finally feels nice to be getting out of it.

I go through this every year really. We welcome the Fall and then winter after the brutal hot days of July and August. We even have a bit of fun in the snow in December and January. And then, slowly but surely, the streak of five and ten degree weather days starts to sap our energy. Before you know it, the depression of Winter sneaks it’s self in (only slightly for myself luckily). And then you get sick. This all ways heavily on my writing.

Today was different. I’m finally no longer sick and we hit seventy degrees and sunny. The family and I were even able to escape our house a bit. I planted some Asiatic Lilly bulbs and some other plant that’s supposed to attract butterflies. It was a good day.

And now I find myself with some energy. Some writing energy. I haven’t had that in a long time. I thought maybe I lost it, but now I know that’s not true. I feel like I’m Super Mario and I just grabbed an invincibility star. Nobody can stop me.

Or, maybe I feel so good because of this:
bigguysmiling

8 thoughts on “Need a Quick Writing Boost – Go Outside

  1. Ahhhh quite lovely but yes they do kind of take up a huge chunk of time!

    As for the planting. How can you have ‘Asiatic Lilly’ in the same sentence as ‘some other thing?’

    If you want butterflies then Buddleia [also very drought tolerant] and Tropical Milkweed [and another one that I can’t remember off the top of my head]
    Cheers

  2. Oh, how adorable! A nice, big, gummy grin can always make me smile. The weather (until today) has been great down here too, so the outside time does refresh you. Glad you’ve got the spark again!

Leave a Reply

