Help Needed

I like to shake things up a bit here from time to time in the design department.  Also, I like to play around in Photoshop. It helps me learn the software.  I’m thinking about changing the header of this blog, but I figured I’d get your opinion first. Click on the images to see them in full size.

Option 1:

Status Quo – the header stays the same

Option 2:

swlogoOption 3:

swlogo3

I’d appreciate it if you would take a few moments and let me know which header you like the best.

20 thoughts on “Help Needed

  1. I like them and voted. But I think you need one with a picture of a little desk garbage can with a bunch of crumpled up pieces of paper on the floor around it and a typewriter sitting in the garbage can. To get the whole strugglingwriter theme.

  2. I voted, but they all look good. I like Kalbzayn’s thought. You could go really 90’s and have crumpled pieces of paper trail after the mouse like a coment…on second thought, keep it to the header 😛 lol

  3. I don’t like the last one. No one writes standing up anymore, at least not with a notebook in hand. The one you have now works fine for me. But of course, it’s your blog. Do what you want . . .

  4. @tysdaddy – I write standing up when I’m stuck on the skytrain with no place to sit! XD

    Anyhoo, I like the silhouette but you need to play with the opacity of the background. It’s too overpowering as is. And, for the font, I the font you used in the first redesign. Anyhoo, that’s my two cents. 🙂

  5. I like the one you have now. It has all the elements that I think of as a writer – writer of classics. I liked the third one – more modern look – but others raised some good points. I just really like your present one. Keep it.

  6. The second looks professional. Of course, a guy with blood shot eyeballs sitting next to an empty coffee pot in a padded room might be less professional but a far more accurate visual of the process. :0

  7. I’m surprised to say I had a different opinion when I viewed them at full size. I thought I’d go for the first one when viewed in the post, but at the larger size I liked the second one.

    But I’m not really thrilled with the actual silhouette. Can’t tell you why, but that’s what I think.

    Good luck on the re-design.

  8. I voted for you to keep the heading as it is, not just because I’m an old stick-in-the-mud, but because I really like the way the words seem to emerge into the candlelight from the darkness.

    Please come along to the Bookroast today if you have a moment, and find out about my new crime thriller, Cut Short. If you’re interested in crime fiction, you’re welcome to join in my Virtual Book Launch next month – details on my blog.

    I hope to hear from you and remember – we’re all struggling with our writing. In the words of Churchill (the politician, not the dog) ‘Never give up’!

  9. Paul, the second one looks more like a heading for reading versus writing. Maybe if there was a hand there with a pen or something. I still like the original one. Sorry.

Leave a Reply

