Three Years

Baby Pushups
Three years is nothing more than a twitch of Father Time’s eyelid. And yet, three years can also feel like an eternity. It feels like both to me as we get ready to celebrate our daughter’s third birthday.

When I look back at myself three years ago it’s amazing how much I have learned. Back then, I knew nuthin’ about nuthin’. If I were making the decision right now about myself then, I would never allow myself to be in charge of a tiny infant. And yet, that’s what they did, and that’s how I learned.

It’s not really about me, though. It’s about my daughter. She shares her name with a Jane Austen novel, but that’s not where she gets her name. She gets her name from her great-grandmother (both of them if you consider her middle name). If she could be half the person as they were, she will be fine. She is well on her way.

Just today, after work, my daughter regaled me with a lovely rendition of an original song, titled “Friends”, which itself is a variation of her original work “Happy day.” “Happy day, happy day. Happy day, happy day.” Repeat at the top of your lungs.

Most days she makes my face hurt from laughter and my eyes tear with pride. Nearly every day she amazes me with her quick wit and her memory (far superior to mine). She is definitely a bundle of joy.

It seems like we went from being astonished she smiled, to her first wobbly steps, all the way to her counting to 30, in the course of an afternoon. We don’t have a baby anymore, that’s for sure. We have a little girl in the house. I have a feeling the rest of her life I’ll be running just to keep up with her.

Anyway, happy birthday my sweetie. I hope it gives you as much joy as you’ve given us.

e_andtigger

13 thoughts on “Three Years

  1. Okay, Paul, you brought tears to our eyes. That’s because as grandparents we have seen a lot of the joy that you have experienced. She also made the name, grandparent, very special to us. How proud we are to be Emma’s grandparents!! Credit goes to Liz and you for making her your top priority. You can sure tell that she has a great deal of love from both of you. You both make us proud.

  2. She is adorable!! What a great tribute to her. I hope you copy this off and save it somewhere to show her when she is older. Preferably past the teenage years. πŸ™‚

    It’s amazing to me how fast time can fly, and at the same time be like forever. I can’t believe my oldest is 11. It seems like yesterday he was like the first picture here. Yet, I don’t hardly remember the house without him. I don’t remember what it was like to not be a mom. He made me someone I wasn’t before, and now it’s hard to remember that person.

    Congrats to you for thriving and raising a gorgeous girl with obvious musical talents (loved that song!!). And happy birthday to her!

  3. What a sweet, pure little face.

    I feel like my little girl was just turning three and now she’s six. I TOTALLY get what you mean about it seeming to go by in flash yet lasting forever at the same time.

    Happy Birthday to your little one.

  4. Oh! I am all teary! Those pictures did me in too! What a lovely tribute and a very happy birthday to your sweetie! It goes so fast. My oldest is now almost as tall as me! Oh I’m teary again!

  5. A child is certainly a concrete marker of time. Although the early days of struggling through parenthood sometimes seem insurmountable.

    I truly remember pacing about holding my teething baby and rubbing her back thinking, “I cannot got through this 10-15 more times as each baby tooth comes in.”

    I’d already gone through a full set of teething twice before.

    And yet I did, sometimes hour by hour, just as every other parent has. And like you said, one day your baby is no longer a baby and that passage of time seems like a blink of an eye.

    Happy Birthday strugglingwriter-ette!

  6. Aw, that was such a lovely piece of writing. Your little girl is so adorable. I’m a mom of a daughter and reading your words brought back so many beautiful memories. My husband and I always laugh about one crucial bit of information no one tells you before you have children: Sleep deprivation. πŸ™‚

  7. Beautiful post, Paul. You really captured the poignancy of the awe-inspiring task/blessing of parenting. Thank you for sharing this. πŸ™‚

    Happy birthday to your daughter! She’s a lucky girl to have you for a dad.

  8. I hope she had a very happy day! The time does go fast, doesn’t it? There was an advert on here a while ago where a mother is playing with a toddler, tossing him into the air – and an enormous eighteen-year-old fella falls down on top of her. That’s the way I feel with Kiko! You blink and suddenly they are this grown-up little thing!

  9. Happy day, indeed! I remember 3 was my favorite age with Ella. Her personality really started to blossom and she started to become a real “kid” that year.

Leave a Reply

