Happiness Is… A Gadget?

There are some weekends that are better than others. Last weekend was definitely one of the good ones.

On Saturday for my birthday my little band (wife, daughter, baby son), plus my sister, her fiance, my parents, and my Grandfather all went to lunch at Red Lobster. That was a nice time.  My Grandfather told me I have a long way to go to catch him.  I told him I’d keep chasing him as long as he kept going.

After that, we went back to my house, which was nicely decorated with streamers and a Happy Birthday banner by my wife. Everybody was too generous with their gifts as always. My parents got me the Nintendo Wii which made my Nintendo Fanboy heart happy. My sister got me Punch Out!, and my wife got me The Complete Peanuts 1971-1972, Vol. 11. One of my best friends, who lives in the same town as us but I haven’t seen since February (!), even came over and gave me a Penguins mug.I owe everybody big time.

Having the Wii, I finally feel like I’m part of this century.  No more Gamecube for me. Well, except for when I play my Gamecube games on the Wii.

This new development probably doesn’t bode well for my writing, though.  I’ll try my best to stay/get motived with my writing.  In fact, I have a writing group meeting tonight.  That will help for sure.

Sunday we were a bit drained because the kids woke us up early. It was a long day, but we survived. The highlight for me was probably going on a long walk with my daughter. She held my hand the entire time!  I know I need to cherish these days because they won’t last. It was just so much fun walking downtown with her and describing everything we saw. Sigh.

The most frustrating aspect of the weekend was my struggle to get the Wii to connect my my router. The Wii can see my network but will just not connect.  I was up until 1:00 AM tinkering with that.  On the heels of a second Penguins loss, that was frustrating. Still, I’m gonna get that to work if it kills me.

So, I’m dragging butt today after a nice birthday weekend. Thanks everybody for the nice messages here, on facebook, and on twitter.

11 thoughts on “Happiness Is… A Gadget?

  1. Happy birthday!

    We’ve talked about getting a Wii or a 360, but I always say that I would never write again and my husband would quit grad school. Sims 3 comes out tomorrow, and I know my productivity will take a nosedive. But it’ll be a FUN nosedive.

    And GO PENS! We can do this, I know we can. Just as I know you can reach “the end”, per your comment on my blog. =)

  2. Before the Wii, the last system I owned was a super nintendo. No, really.

    Glad you had a great time! Yeah, it’ll suck writing time for a while, but you’ll find balance I’m sure. Hmm, don’t know about finding your network though, mine picked up the connection right away. Good luck!

  3. Happy late birthday, it sounds like it was stellar!

    And you sound like my husband, he will stay up until the wee hours of the morning to make some kind of electronic thing work. Me, I say eff it and go to bed.

  4. Sounds like your birthday was great! I came home from work on Friday to a banner made by my son and a balloon daisy/star? taped to the front door. We went out for Chinese food at my request, and I went to bed at 9 p.m. Ah. That’s what I call a good time. SLEEP!

    Happy birthday, Paul! 🙂

Leave a Reply

