Laugh, Think, Cry Every Day

The other day while cruising the web I came across this famous speech college basketball coach Jim Valvano. I just had to share it. Jimmy V was dying of cancer at the time and gave of the most memorable speeches in sports history. In it he says we should all laugh every day, spend some time in thought every day, and be moved to tears every day (either through laughter or sadness).

via Mondesi’s House

In addition to that, I came across a great quote from Pittsburgh Penguins forward Maxime Talbot. In talking about tomorrow’s Game 7, Maxime is quoted as saying:

I’ve played this game a thousand times already in my driveway,” he said. “Every time you play street hockey, what game do you play? You play Game 7, Stanley Cup final, and we just gave ourselves a chance to play that game. It’s the chance of a lifetime. (Pittsburgh Post Gazette)

How cool is that. Very cool, I tell you. I used to dream the same thing, although my dreams usually involved me hitting a game winning home run in Game 7 of the World Series for the Pittsburgh Pirates.

Yeah, I’m in a bit of a philosophical mood today. But in a good way. 🙂

5 thoughts on “Laugh, Think, Cry Every Day

  1. What a great speech! And today was a great day for me to watch this!

    Wouldn’t it be good to start every day with a motivational speech like that? Something to help me move forward with hope instead of wallowing in the now.

Leave a Reply

