Breakin’ The Law

So I’ll be driving like a crazy person on my way home from work tonight, hoping to get pulled over. You see, I got pulled over before the last Pens game, so I need to get pulled over tonight for good luck. Right? OK, maybe not.

So, why did I get pulled over Tuesday? Good question. I guess I’m just a rebel.

Here’s how it went down. I was less than a quarter of a mile from my house and decided to take the back way. I come to a four way stop and nobody is at any of the other stop signs. So….I “pause” at the stop sign and then take my right hand turn, like I always do. Then I see the flashing lights in my rear view. I immediately pull to the side of the road, trying to figure out what I did wrong.

Speeding? Nope. Tail light out. No, I don’t think so. Well, the officer approaches the car and tells me I treated the stop sign more as a Yield sign than a stop. Here’s where some may have tried to argue or whatever. I just nodded my head. He then asked me for my license and registration. I hand over the documents and he goes back to his car.

And we wait. I sit there for ten minutes while he does the paperwork (and most likely a background check). Whatever. I wonder if I’ll get a warning or a fine. Finally, he returns to the car with the paperwork for a traffic citation. Joy!

Then he tells me I have ten days (or whatever) to respond. I ask him if I can just mail it and he says yes. Then here comes the kicker. He tells me “I would plead not guilty if I were you”. This blew me away. He’s still giving me the citation but basically saying that if I contest it, I’ll be OK. Makes no kind of sense.

I sent my check to the court the next day along with my guilty plea. It just didn’t feel right pleading not guilty to something I was in fact guilty of. I would have rather not pay the $100, but them’s the breaks.


Tonight is game seven of the Stanley Cup Finals. The last game of the season, no matter what. I’m either gonna be extremely happy tonight or disappointed. We will see.  Here’s a cool video to get you in the mood for the game:

4 thoughts on “Breakin’ The Law

  1. My old driver’s ed instructor used to call those “California Rolls”. Whatever . . .

    Go Pens! (I’m not even in the vicinity of being a hockey fan, but since you’re pulling for them, I’ll toss my hat in as well . . . )

  2. My dad calls those California Rolls as well. They were the bane of my existence when he was teaching me to drive.

    Sorry to hear about the fine. Annoying that he wouldn’t just give you a warning instead. I probably would have paid it as well, though. If I actually had to defend myself in person for it, I wouldn’t feel right about lying.

  3. That stinks! Why give you a ticket if he wants you to plead out?

    My hubs got a ticket once and contested it and the judge just threw the whole thing out without hearing an argument. He just didn’t want to deal with it.

    I have friends cheering for the Pens too. I have a hard time getting into hockey in June. It’s baseball season for me, now!

Leave a Reply

