Marital Advice – The Tuck Rule

I’ve been married for five years.  It feels like it has only been a day, like we were just yesterday living in our little one bedroom apartment in the nearby college town frantically planning for the big day. In this short period of time I’ve learned a few things. I thought I’d take today and share with you one thing I’ve learned, at no cost to you. I’m just that generous.

A great philosopher once said that love is a battlefield. I’m here to tell you that it doesn’t have to be.  Just follow my advice.I call it The Tuck Rule.

Let me break it down for you. Married people sleep in the same bed. This bed usually only has one set of covers. Right? Also, people move around a lot when they sleep. Some people move more than others. Most likely, the person that moves more winds up with the covers at the end of the night. These are the facts.

Maybe you are the stationary sleeper, waking up in the middle of the night frozen as a popsicle, resenting your beloved. It doesn’t have to be this way. All you have to do is tuck.

Tuck? You ask. Yes tuck. All you have to do is grab a little bit of the covers before you go to bed and tuck them under your body. Now, no matter how much your spouse moves around you still have your share of the covers.

This technique isn’t without controversy, of course.  If one person is following the Tuck Rule and the other is not, well, the non-tucker is probably going to wind up being cold. This is easily avoided, however, if both people simply agree to tuck before going to bed. Marriage is about communication, people!

So that’s really all there is to it. Tuck and be warm all night and wake happy and rested. Stay tuned for “Part 2: Why is the Other Side of the Pillow Always Colder?”.

18 thoughts on “Marital Advice – The Tuck Rule

  1. For years, I was the fat guy, so losing covers never bothered me. Now, I’m much thinner, and my wife is approaching menopause. So she throws all the covers my way.

    See how it all works out . . .

  2. My husband and I just use separate covers. Makes cuddling sometimes difficult but he likes to sleep with a gazillion blankets and I barely sleep with one. But this tuck rule? We may have to give it a shot!

  3. Happy Father’s Day 🙂

    Most seasons it doesn’t matter, we have layers of stuff, and he takes some and I take the others; but in winter every single blanket becomes important. Not to talk ill of the man, especially on father’s day, But….he is such a cover grabber that often when I get up out of bed I find he has pulled the blanket so far that he has half (the half that should be on me) and the floor has the other half (that should be on him). To this I tsk tsk at him, and tell him that he should not worry so much over the floor, it is carpeted and is plenty warm enough. He has even pulled it all the way onto the floor, I guess for him it is not about being warm but about compulsively pulling. I will tell him about your Tuck idea. I do fear however that this will result, in a perpetual pull and tuck situation, which will have him wrapped like a mummy by morning.

  4. What does it say about your relationship/ sleeping habits if you don’t have this problem? We fight over the space in the bed (“you’re on my side”/ “that is NOT the middle”) not the covers…

  5. This is so funny! i follow the Tuck and Roll philosophy. Tuck it under, then roll and take the rest with me.

    Luckily, my hubs is always hot! 🙂

Leave a Reply

