I Had a Good Year This Weekend

What’s up with me lately? A bunch, actually.

Friday, my Dad and I spent the day preparing my side porch to be painted. We thought we were going to paint Friday, but that didn’t happen. What did happen was a LOT of sanding, sweeping, and scraping. There were three layers of paint on the deck, so it took a lot of hard work.

We worked for five or six hours on the deck, but just ran out of daylight. Let me tell you that I’m soooo sore. I’ve spent the past few days making old man noises when I’ve had to bend down to pick up toys, or the baby, or to just lift up the baby.

We’ll most likely paint this week. I’m hoping to get some pictures, so I’ll share them when they’re available.

Saturday we had a party at a co-worker’s house. That was a lot of fun. My daughter was able to play cars with a little boy around her age. I got a kick out of the kids talking to each other in their kid language. I didn’t know what they were saying all the time, but they seemed to be communicating. Nobody was shoved to the ground, so I consider that a win.

Sunday we travelled to my parent’s house for Father’s Day. That is always a good time. We got to spend time with my family, ate a bunch of food, and were able to hand off the baby for a while.

We also went for a walk Sunday in the neighborhood I grew up. That was probably my favorite part, seeing the old stomping grounds. We walked on the road I used to take my bike on to my best friend’s house. So many memories. Just off that road is the forest I spent much of my early childhood exploring. I’m pretty sure my old paths are no longer there, but I’m itching to veer into that forest and find out. Maybe next time.

So, it was a full, but great weekend. I can’t wait until the next one. 🙂

One thought on “I Had a Good Year This Weekend

Leave a Reply

