I’m A Magician

We had a very nice 4th of July weekend. We drove the hour to my parent’s house on Friday and didn’t get to bed until 11:00 or so. My daughter (3 years old) was so hyped seeing everybody I’m convinced she couldn’ve pulled an all-nighter easily.

Saturday we headed out into the country to my cousin’s house for the annual 4th of July picnic. We had a great time although it was the coldest 4th I could remember. Of course I didn’t bring a jacket.  Much food was eaten, games played, and fun had.

My soon to be brother-in-law and I were in awe of the manliness of the guys who were splitting wood with an ax. The manliest thing we did that day was play catch with a pink plastic  jai alai set.

Saturday night back at my parent’s house and everybody in town was putting off fireworks. You know a lot of stuff was exploded when you can still smell the sulfur from the gunpowder the next day at 10:00 AM!

Sunday we all went to the church I attended when I was growing up. My Mom even did the sermon. She did a great job,even though the 4 month old was heckling her with high-pitched baby noises.

That’s my weekend in a very bare-bones nutshell. I’ll have to post photos if I get the chance. I’m off of work tomorrow to recover from the weekend. I have a writing critique group Monday night, which should be fun. They’re reading my Chapter 3. We’ll see how it goes.

Oh, and I’m magical because that slow motion jog thing I do continues to put the baby to sleep. I feel like I have attained the unattainable. I put him to sleep like that 3 or 4 times this weekend and bragged about it every time. I think people started to get sick of me. 🙂

9 thoughts on “I’m A Magician

  1. Sounds like a great weekend with yoru family.
    The baby sleeping aid sounds brilliant – it was driving in the car that sent mine off to sleep – but then there was always the problem of them waking as soon as you got back home and tried to take them into the house…
    that song ‘I Drove All Night’ was never so true!

    • Diane – the driving around thing worked on my daughter. However, I’ve had too many close calls with almost falling asleep driving around at 3:00 AM that driving is my last resort.

  2. Sounds like your 4th weekend was everything it should have been (except maybe hot).

    Glad the magic things is working. Enjoy it… in a few days you’ll have to find a new magic thing! 🙂

  3. Sounds like you had a fantastic weekend with your family! Although, since you’ve found the magic touch, I imagine your reward is getting “putting baby to bed” on your to do list always 🙂

Leave a Reply

