Call Me the Rainmaker

I have the ability to make it rain. No I’m not a shaman and no I don’t have a special dance. Still, I can make it rain, guaranteed. I’ ve inherited this skill from my dad. We call it washing the car.

It went down like this. Saturday morning we took the car to be inspected. This is never a good thing. It’s a once a year draining of my wallet, thanks to the great state of Pennsylvania. I was doubly nervous about getting the car inspected because it will be paid off at the end of the month. I’m convinced something will happen to it once it’s paid for, to conteract my savings. Spontaneous combustion, perhaps.

Anyhow, around 10:30 in the morning Saturday the car garage gives us a call and tell us that everthing is fine with the car. It passed inspection! My wife and I shared a high-five at the news, as if we had just won the Stanley Cup.

Anyhow, still walking on clouds from the news, it is decided that we would wash the cars, the old school hand washing way. My little helper came out with me, even though I wasn’t sure how well she would do. I fully expected to be chasing her around the whole time while I washed the car. She is three years old, after all.

Well, I was wrong. My daughter did great. She ran the hose for me, she helped wash the tires, and she got soaked. Of course halfway through washing my car, the sky started to rumble.  I kept saying, “I hear a rumble, we better work fast. My daugher inperpretted this as “I hear a grumble”, which I think sounds much better.

We did make it through washing my car and a speedy half-hearted washing of my wife’s car. Mere moments after we were done, it started to rain. Oh well. We still had a great time. I brought the rain again.

On an unrelated note, thanks everybody for the comments on my story.  I’m really glad everybody likes it.  There’s another story over there you might want to check out. It just so happens to be written by somebody that lives with me and shares my last name. Her’s is entry #70. I wonder if this is the first time a husband and a wife both entered one of the Clarity of Night contests?

4 thoughts on “Call Me the Rainmaker

  1. Our neighbor used to wait for it to rain to wash the car. He said it saved on his water bills.

    And kids are great help in washing the car. Teach them early, and they’ll do it for years and years, and think it’s fun and not work at all!

  2. Kids are the best. My husband has had mine working on the farm since they were three. Now they’re driving tractors! I think it may be illegal–they’re only 11 and 13. Anyway, I’ll have to check out your wife’s story!

  3. I like the idea of renaming Thunder Storms as Grumble Storms — it makes perfect sense to me!

    And aren’t kids great for washing the car? In the summer it’s a total win-win. That reminds me, my car needs a good washing…

Leave a Reply

