We Went There – A Ficly Story

Have you all heard of Ficly? It’s a website where you write stories 1024 characters in length (a character being a letter, punctuation, a space, a carriage return, etc).  Once you write a story people can add to your story with a prequel or sequel. Users also rate and comment on your stories.

Anyway, I used to be pretty active over there, especially when the site was owned by AOL and called Ficlets. Anyhow, I just started posting stories over there again. Here’s one I just wrote, titled We Went There. I hope you like it. You can see more of my stuff here: http://ficly.com/authors/strugglingwriter

We Went There

“40th anniversary of the Moon landing today,” said Walter, glancing at the night sky.

“Meh,” replied Tyler, as his thumbs pecked away at his phone’s tiny keypad.

“What do you mean, meh?” said Walter, fighting the urge to knock the phone out of his son’s hands.

“Big deal,” said Tyler, finally looking up. “A bunch of guys went to the Moon. Why go to the Moon, anyway?”

Walter wanted to scream at his son about President Kennedy’s challenge, about the Cold War, about the need at that point in our nation’s history for something, anything, positive. Instead, he said, “You want to know why we went to the Moon?”

“Yeah,” answered Tyler with a smirk. “Why bother.”

“Because it was there,” answered Walter, making eye contact with his son. “Because we needed to know.”

Tyler put his phone in his pant pocket, the one specifically designed for cell phones. He too looked to the sky. “Dad,” he said. “Do you think we’ll ever go farther than the Moon?”

“I hope so,” answered Walter. “I really do.”

4 thoughts on “We Went There – A Ficly Story

  1. I always enjoy your ficlets–always.

    I just heard about them pulling the plug on ficlets, it kind of made me sad, and I headed to my reader to see if you had any news about it, and sure enough, you did.

    Thanks for the update!

Leave a Reply

