A Hero’s Journey

I have been batting around a new novel idea for a month. Yep, I’m cheating on the book that I haven’t even finished. Shame on me.

Anyhow, the type of story I want to write is a good old adventure story. The type of story I would have wanted to read when I was a kid. Good old escapism.

To this end, I’ve purchased the novelization of The Goonies, written back in 1985. Seriously.

The Goonies is one of my favorite movies of all time. I so wanted to go on an adventure like those kids in that movie. Think about it. The movie has treasure, and gadgets, and pirates, an booty traps, I meam booby traps. And Hobbits. Well, Sean Astin at least.

The novel has the same, although it is written in first person from Mikey’s point of view. It’s a pretty good book. I remember reading it back in the day, although my copy was lost. So, I picked one up from Amazon for a penny (plus $3 shipping).

Now, I’m not trying to copy The Goonies. I am, however, trying to learn a bit of how the story is structured. I’m also hoping to achieve a similar “feel” with my story.

Anybody else using similiar tactics to help their writing?

PS Totally unrelated, but the Pittsburgh Pirates are dead to me. What a sorry excuse for an organization. Had to say it.

9 thoughts on “A Hero’s Journey

  1. Urgh. Same with me. I was trying to do Bizarro Tale a couple months ago, but I stopped it to finish other stories. I finished “Not Alone” and it came to 16 pages in length. I am also looking for follwers of my blog. Could you please visit and comment on some of my posts at http://inkladendiary.blogspot.com/ ? Thanks. I’m a writer too, so I’m trying to get my voice heard. Please follow if interested!

  2. I’m working on writing a script, and along with all of the books I am using to figure out the correct format to write a script, I am watching funny movies all the time and looking for key aspects all of them have that I don’t want to leave out. And of course there are those “funny” movies that I actually think are so stupid and they are helping me know what I want to keep out of the movie.

    Everyone needs inspiration and I think the Goonies is a great way to get familiar with adventure.

  3. The book I’m working on has a sort of vampire theme to it. I am reading every book with a bite I can: Dracula. ‘Salems Lot. Let the right one in. All these help me to get in the mood.

  4. I’ve always wanted to write an adventure tale, and Goonies was always a favourite of mine. I never did read the novelization, though. I have a hard time reading books based on movies, for some reason.

  5. I think studying other successful books and looking at their structure etc is always a good object lesson. If maybe writing a book that could get picked up for a film is your goal, checking out a screenwritting book might also be a good idea. “SaveThe Cat” was pretty good. 🙂 Sounds like an interesting project.

Leave a Reply

