Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince

My wife and I had a “date night” tonight, the first in a year, according to her. I think we had one around Valentine’s Day, but I could be wrong. Either way, it’s been a while. Kids will do that.

Anyhow, my parents and my sister and her husband (that sounds weird, they’ve been married two weeks!) came over and watched the kids and we went to an afternoon showing of Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince and then a quick dinner.

It sure was nice being out and we both really enjoyed the movie. It’s always nice when you get to do that with your best friend. It was just nice not having the kids there so we could give a little attention to each other.

Most of the reviews I read of Harry Potter 6 were positive, although not glowing. I have to say I really liked it, though. It was a nice mix of action, story, drama and humor. Entertaining, but not stupid entertaining.

I think the real reason I love these movies is the sets. I love the castle, and Dumbledore’s study, and the potion teacher’s classroom with all the glass beakers and such. It seems like the backgrounds of all these scenes are filled with old books. I want to go study at Hogwarts.

Anyhow, it was a good night and a good escape for us. I’m excited to see the next one now. I wish it was coming out tomorrow. I think that’s the highest praise you can give a movie, that you want to see more of it.

12 thoughts on “Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince

  1. I’m going to try again this next year. I probably won’t make it, but last years failed novel actually looks like it can be scraped into a pretty good story later on…when I’m done with my noveling blog. ^^

  2. Good for you for getting out! My husband and I do that occasionally, but not on a regular basis. Three kids will do that to you. And we end up spending the whole time talking about the kids anyway – or my writing. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I loved HP6. Much better than the last 2, which were so dark – both in content and visually. I wish it could have been more comprehensive of the book though – I’d have sat through a 4 hour movie of Harry Potter! ๐Ÿ™‚

    I took my son to this one, too. That was the coolest. He’s ten, and it’s the first one I’ve let him see in the theatre. He got into the books two years ago because of me, and it’s a great thing to share with him.

  3. That is high praise! Isn’t it wild when you get a chance to talk to your wife without being interrupted by kids?

    Sometimes it takes us a while to get jump started on conversation since we never have a chance to talk. Or we start talking in the morning while my husband is getting ready for work and have to stop in the middle because it’s time for him to walk out the door.

    Man that’s annoying.

    Glad to hear you got a break and were able to see an awesome movie! I didn’t realize there were already SIX Harry Potter movies. Not a fan, I’m sure it doesn’t show.

  4. I actually liked the movie better than the book. It’s nice to get out without the kids. Me and my husband did that for the first time in a long time and my kids are old enough to watch themselves. We went to see 500 days of Summer. It was nice to see a movie that didn’t have talking robots or people who can fly.

Leave a Reply

