Nice Hot Cuppa Java

Things are good and bad with me. First the good. Java class has been good so far. I’m picking the language up pretty easily and the days have gone fast. Of course it’s been a whole lot of “Hello World” (the first program you usually write in any language is the “Hello World” program), and we only got into some of the difficult aspects today. Tomorrow we’re delving into more of the “object oriented” concepts, which I’m sure will add to the difficulty.

Now for the bad. We’ve been getting 90+ degree temperatures for the past week or so. I can’t say we’re enjoying that. We do not have central air conditioning. When I publish that first novel and become world famous we getting central air. The sleeping at our house has not been good. On top of the hot temperatures, the baby son has decided he’s going to go from sleeping angel to waking up every hour at night. My wife and I are at wits end.

So, I haven’t done much writing. I’ve done a little though on my lunch breaks. I’ve been bringing my notebook to Java class and writing a little bit here and there. It’s not much, but better than nothing.

Anyhow, that is life here.  Could be worse, but hoping for better.

6 thoughts on “Nice Hot Cuppa Java

  1. Sounds like things are moving along! I can’t imagine not having central air, but then again I do live where it’s 90+ degrees about 70% of the year. The upside is that we don’t use the heater much at all.

    Have you guys tried the homeopathic teething tablets yet? Some people swear by them, but we’ve had mixed results. My kids were always terrible sleepers, but the nice thing about the tablets is the chamomile. I give it to my youngest a little before bed and it helps her settle faster and sleep for a few hours. I guess it would help more if I’d remember to give her another dose in the middle of the night, but I always forget!

  2. Ah no, fingers crossed for a drop in temperature for you soon and better sleeping for your baby.

    I’m glad you’re enjoying your course and have been able to find time for writing. 🙂

  3. I never got that no- central air thing in central PA. I mean, I remember living the first two months of every college year in a pool of sweat. What’s with that???? It’s not like it’s not hot there!

    Learning Java…yikes.

Leave a Reply

