On Ted

My brother need not be idealized or enlarged in death beyond what he was in life, to be remembered as a good and decent man, who saw wrong and tried to right it, saw suffering and tried to heal it, saw war and tried to stop it.

Those of us who loved him and who take him to his rest today, pray that what he was to us and what he wished for others will some day come to pass for all the world.

Eulogy for Robert F. Kennedy, June 1968.

As you all know by now, Ted Kennedy died yesterday. I found the above quote particularly moving. I find it particularly moving that Ted continued in the public eye, especially after his second brother was assassinated. I’d imagine he was always looking over his shoulder, wondering when it would be his turn.

Like he said of his brother, Ted Kennedy would not want to be idealized, I don’t think. His personal issues have been well documented, but when it comes to politics there were few as dedicated to helping the poor as Senator Kennedy. Check out the obit from the New York Times.

I’ll tell you what, though. Cancer is really starting to tick me off. If cancer was standing beside me right now, I’d punch it in the nose. And not just because of Ted Kennedy. And I’m not normally a violent person. Watch your back, cancer.

3 thoughts on “On Ted

  1. I agree about cancer. It’s beginning to really get to me.

    About Ted… I had a discussion about the Kennedy’s with my husband today – that we grew up with them as the American dynasty.

    My kids won’t know that. For them, it will be someone else.

    You couldn’t give me all the money in the world to be a Kennedy… or to be a Kennedy wife. I’ll take my quiet, unassuming life, and hope it’s a very long one.

  2. I didn’t agree much with Ted politically, but there was never a doubt that his heart was behind every plan he came up with. It is a rare thing to have the respect of your opponents that he had.

    I heard a doctor a few weeks ago saying that people are dying more of cancer now because we are living longer and not dying from other things.
    And it’s the whole American thing . . . check out rates in other countries. We put way too many contaminants in our bodies in this part of the world.

Leave a Reply

