No Pants In Two Weeks

Got your attention? 🙂

Today was my first day back in the office, following two intense weeks of Java training. That means back to the land of long pants, dress shoes, and ties. No more shorts, t-shirt, and sandals for me. Maybe that’s why I’m so grumpy today.

I remember the days of being a kid, when it would feel weird to put on jeans for the first day of school after a summer of baseball, soccer, and swimming. Seriously, my legs would kinda rebel those first couple days of school. For some reason, they didn’t remember the dress pants at church every Sunday. Maybe they just had a problem with too-tight stone washed jeans with the bottoms rolled (sorry, it was the late 80’s, early 90’s people!).

So I have a bit of that today. It will take me a few days to get re-assimilated into the workforce I’m sure. But it will happen. *sigh*

Not much else is new. I’m glad everybody agrees with me about dust jackets. They are only good for using as a bookmark, and then, only slightly better than my normal bookmark – a random piece of tissue.

6 thoughts on “No Pants In Two Weeks

  1. Man you took me right back to rolling the bottom of my jeans into a tight, tight roll against my ankle. I had to fold the excess in half on the inside of my ankle and then roll upward — sort of like a denim burrito.

    Ah, good times.

    And I know exactly that feeling of going from shorts all summer to pants (cries in her coffee.)

    Lastly, I didn’t get a chance to weigh in on the dust jacket/no dust jacket debate.

    I do enjoy a dust jacket. With conditions. It has to be taped on so it won’t slide off, the way they do it at the library. I know. That’s a huge condition and the tape isn’t that sexy.

    But I am a dust jacket snob. I want to read inside the cover to get a preview of the story. That is exactly how I choose which book to read. If you got no dust jacket I pass over you no questions asked.

    I will not read it without a preview. Uppity? Yes. And proud of it.

    There are very few exceptions to my rule. If I have fallen in love with an author and have read 60% of his or her offerings I will Google the errant book at the library that has no jacket (by that author, of course.)

    The only way I would switch over is if they started printing the synopsis — a full one, not the six-word sentence they type on the little folder inside for the library slip — on the first page inside the book.

    I have to try before I buy.

    And that is what I think about dust jackets. Thank you for your rapt attention.

Leave a Reply

