Living a Story

Remember how I said the other day that I was spending my days at Hogwarts? Well, I was really at Hogwarts last night. Let me explain.

I am very near the end of Harry Potter and The Order of the Phoenix. It has very much captured my attention. Even when I’m not reading the book, I’m thinking about it. This is good. What is not good is sleep deprivation.

Yeah, the baby son, Mr. T we shall call him, went to bed around 8:30-ish. I took this opportunity to read some of the book with the Steeler game on in the background. Perfect. Well, he woke at 10:30. Then at 11:00.

Then he did not want to fall back to sleep. Want to see two married people turn on each other real quick? Add a baby that doesn’t want to sleep to the mix. Anyhow, I wound up taking him for a ride in the car at 2:00 AM in the hopes that he would fall asleep.

We took about a 45 minute ride on the highway. It was a surreal experience, to say the least. A few times I may have “blinked” a bit longer than I should have. It was at these times that I felt like I was in Hogwarts and I was Harry Potter. The only thing I lacked was the stinging lightning bolt on my forehead. Thank goodness my guardian angel works over time because we did make it home unscathed. And the baby was still awake.

So, I don’t think I’m gonna be doing a late night car ride again. That is, unless I can think up a charm to keep myself awake or envelop the car in a protective bubble.