Living a Story

Remember how I said the other day that I was spending my days at Hogwarts? Well, I was really at Hogwarts last night. Let me explain.

I am very near the end of Harry Potter and The Order of the Phoenix. It has very much captured my attention. Even when I’m not reading the book, I’m thinking about it. This is good. What is not good is sleep deprivation.

Yeah, the baby son, Mr. T we shall call him, went to bed around 8:30-ish. I took this opportunity to read some of the book with the Steeler game on in the background. Perfect. Well, he woke at 10:30. Then at 11:00.

Then he did not want to fall back to sleep. Want to see two married people turn on each other real quick? Add a baby that doesn’t want to sleep to the mix. Anyhow, I wound up taking him for a ride in the car at 2:00 AM in the hopes that he would fall asleep.

We took about a 45 minute ride on the highway. It was a surreal experience, to say the least. A few times I may have “blinked” a bit longer than I should have. It was at these times that I felt like I was in Hogwarts and I was Harry Potter. The only thing I lacked was the stinging lightning bolt on my forehead. Thank goodness my guardian angel works over time because we did make it home unscathed. And the baby was still awake.

So, I don’t think I’m gonna be doing a late night car ride again. That is, unless I can think up a charm to keep myself awake or envelop the car in a protective bubble.

10 thoughts on “Living a Story

  1. Oh dear, that doesn’t sound good at all. Poor you.

    I do hope that Mr T starts to sleep through the night soon – and you get to finish Harry Potter too…

    (LOVE the Harry Potter books, have read them all many times – so involving. The films are fun too – I’m trying to find a child to take to see the newest one!)

    • Diane, I was under the impression the streets of England are filled with singing chimney sweeps. Couldn’t one of them go with you to Harry Potter?

      My wife and I went to the latest HP movie on a date without the kids and had a great time. I think it’s the best one yet.

  2. Oy, I never did take our kids out in the car but I know so many people who did. Unfortunately our kids never fell asleep in the car. I know, it sucked. Even on long trips — four hour trips. They’d fall asleep ten minutes before we got there.

    So they were awake screaming for three hours and 50 minutes. And then ten minutes of bliss until the car stopped.

    Grr.

  3. All with terrible cockney accents à la Dick Van Dyke? Sadly, not!

    I’m even more determined to see it now. – I can’t wait until it comes to DVD. None of my friends are HP fans. Maybe I need some new friends….

  4. Yikes! No more late night trips to Hogwarts. You’re right about the turning on each other part. We still flip out when the baby doesn’t sleep. Exhaustion mixed with screaming and panic and all sorts of fun emotions. Recipe for a nice freak-out session, no matter how stable your relationship was during the daylight.

    But I do love being swept away like that by a good book. Doesn’t happen often enough.

Leave a Reply

