On Edgar

That Leaf Is Up To No Good

That Leaf Is Up To No Good

Above is a papercraft Edgar Allen Poe I made last year. It’s pretty awesome. Unfortunately, the .pdf I used to make this little guy seems to be gone from the Internet. Not awesome.

Anyhow, I mention this because they are celebrating Edgar Allen Poe in Baltimore this week, culminating in a “grand funeral” on Sunday. I guess when he was originally buried, only ten mourners attended. I expect there will be a bit more than that this time.

So, what’s your favorite work by Edgar Allen Poe? Mine is and always be The Raven. I don’t get into poetry a lot, but The Raven is gold to me.

Once upon a midnight dreary, while I pondered, weak and weary,
Over many a quaint and curious volume of forgotten lore,
While I nodded, nearly napping, suddenly there came a tapping,
As of some one gently rapping, rapping at my chamber door.
” ‘Tis some visiter,” I muttered, “tapping at my chamber door —
Only this, and nothing more.”

5 thoughts on “On Edgar

  1. what a great Poe!!

    I gave my son a collection of Poe stories last year. I’d forgotten how totally creepy they are. My favorite is probably the Cask of Amontillado – I remember reading that in high school and wondering what wackos in the public school system thought that was okay for 14 year olds to read.

    Same thing with Tell-Tale Heart, which is my 2nd favorite.

    Murders in the Rue Morgue has to be one of my all-time favorite titles, though.

  2. I am so jazzed to tell you I actually remember Paper Edgar from last year! We’ve known each other for almost a year now!

    How fun is that?

    If I recall, I told you that EAP should watch his back around Smiling Leaf, since SL looks like a disguised Heat Miser. Looks like Poe is doing a good job of protecting his territory.

Leave a Reply

