NaNoWriMo – How’s Your Planning Going?

NaNoWriMo 2009 is in ten days. How is your planning going? Mine? Let’s just say I’m glad I have ten more days.

I am very glad I’ve been planning and thinking about my story this early in the game (yes, this is early for me). It has forced me to look beyond my initial story idea and think about my story arc. Right now I have a pretty well defined protagonist and antagonist, I know how the story begins. What I don’t know yet, is the main problem of the story. Only the most important part, right?

I’ve come across a few more resources. This one is actually part of that nanowrimo young writer’s handbook I mentioned the other day. It’s called Creating Interesting Characters (warning: pdf file). This next link, How to Get Ready for NaNoWriMo, had a lot of good information. Some of it may be overkill, but it is worth a look.

So keep chugging away on that planning everybody. It will be so worth it in November. You’ll be flying along while everybody else is struggling with what to write next.

7 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo – How’s Your Planning Going?

  1. My planning is a huge mess. I’ve even written words upside down and sideways.

    But, I do have my premise, my protag and antag. I have the beginning, the conflict, the character flaws and the epiphany. What I am missing is some backstory, the trigger, the major struggle and the end. Oh and also the names of the nemesis and a few minor characters.

    Wow, only ten days. Looks like I might be a pantster on some of this stuff.

  2. I’m glad it’s still 10 days away, too. Oh my! The closer it gets, the less sure I am that I will participate. I’m really caught up in some awesome revisions on my completed ms. What to do? What to do? Thanks for the links, though. I’ll check them out.

  3. At the moment I really don’t have a plan. I only have the genre: Sci/Fi + Comedy. Last year I found out that the planned parts of the story were not as good as the unplanned parts. But I guess if I want to win NaNoWriMo 2009 I have to have at least a clue what the story will be about.

  4. Oh, definitely grateful for ten more days. I have 7 chapters left to edit from my previous WIP before I can really dive into the NaNoWriMo project. But it’s in the back of my mind and I think I have my main conflict and my characters all worked out. Still working on that antagonist.

    Try to think of your main problem as a direct conflict to what your character wants more than anything. What does he/she value above all else? What is their goal in the story?
    Now think about how you can completely screw with that. 🙂

    I have fiound this site immensly helpful at times:
    http://hollylisle.com/fm/

  5. Need to start planning. Soon.

    I’m not much of a planner, but I don’t want to do this half-assed and don’t want to lose momentum in the middle of the month.

    Will start planning.

Leave a Reply

