Let’s Hear it for the Pantsers

Well, I’m in day two and have a bit over 4,000 words written. I’ve been up to midnight both nights, but am very happy with my progress.

I have to say, I’m happy with my pants-ness. Yes, I did do a bit of planning, but I’m still doing most of the writing by the seat of my pants. I’m coming up with little plot twists and characterization that I just wouldn’t create in the planning phase. I have to say it feels fun to write right now. Very cool.

It’s funny. I thought about this story for a couple weeks straight, trying so hard to come up with an outline. It just wasn’t happening. It seems my brain just doesn’t work that way.

What I do have, as far as planning goes, is a few sentences of what should happen in each chapter. This is my guideline, and has helped immensely. It’s also what I need for chapters to come.

17 thoughts on “Let’s Hear it for the Pantsers

  1. I think we are a lot alike in that regard. Although, at times, I would probably benefit from outlining, I love it when those plot twists just come out of no where. Congrats on your word count!

  2. I wrote on of my manuscripts that way. Just a few sentences of thought for each chapter. Before I went to bed I’d make sure I had the few sentences for the next chapter so when I woke I could get right to it.

    I’m doing some rewriting, but just hearing about your first draft process is exciting. I hope it keeps working for you.

  3. I had a rough outlined planned, but nothing is happening the way I originally thought it would or should. I’m enjoying it though…it does need some more action. I will be working on that today.

  4. Ok, I confess……I planned…..I couldn’tt help myself. I wanted to be a pantster. I wanted to throw all caution to the wind, but alas my true self took hold.
    14,099 and going strong! I just might make it to 15K today if I quit goofing off and get back to work.

  5. Because I know you have sooo much time to give me advice ๐Ÿ˜‰ …

    So I just decided that I want to change about half of what I already wrote. Do I go back and change it now and then finish writing what I want to write, or leave it the way it is, write the rest of the story like I actually had changed it and change it next month?

    • There was a good suggestion on the NaNoWriMo site today that said you should not go back an edit. Rather, take whatever you want to change and either put it in italics or change the font color to red or something.

      That way you don’t lose and words and you aren’t self-editing in the rough draft phase.

  6. Awesome! You’re ahead of the curve already!

    I’m not doing NaNo, but I am making a concerted effort to write, and I’m enjoying it, too. It’s good to be moving ahead.

    I do very loose ideas of my story, but mine is changing a bit as I write it, and I love that too. If you knew everything that was going to happen, how fun would that be?

  7. That’s so interesting how personality comes into play with writing. I am a micro-organizer on a lot of things. I don’t like surprises and I like to plan ahead, so I’ve been intensely scrutinizing my plot and have an extensive outline.

    That’s been really helpful to me, but it’s interesting to see that you’ve done something similar but in a more casual way.

    Your one or two sentences are serving the same purpose that my bulleted items are.

    And strangely enough, I have had some plot twists show up now that I’m in the thick of things.

    This really is fun and I have to say, sw, that you are the person who has tipped the scales for me. I’ve wanted to do NaNo for a few years but never did.

    Thanks for the inspiration and keep on writing!

    • Wow, that’s really cool I had that influence on you.

      To quote a famous guy, “And I’ve seen the promised land. I may not get there with you. But I want you to know tonight, that we, as a people, will get to the promised land.”

      I may not make it as a writer, but if I could help get somebody else get there, it’s all gravy.

  8. Pantsers unite!! And, you know, have a pants party or something….

    A couple sentences on each chapter sounds VERY well planned to me, and I imagine it’ll really help you speed through NaNo. Go Paul! ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Keep pushing through! Make sure your Internal Editor is switched OFF and just write whatever crap falls out of your brain. In a while, it’ll start to flow more easily again. Honest.

Leave a Reply

